We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to lots of restaurants and stores” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Cambridge House B & B Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added A Cambridge House B & B Inn to your Saves list
A Cambridge House B & B Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2218 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02140-1836   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Close to lots of restaurants and stores”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Got a wonderfully large room in the new annex. It had a great window seating looking out over Massachusetts Avenue. Unfortunately, this also meant that there was a fair amount of traffic noise although it didn't keep us awake.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    14
    14
    6
See reviews for
19
30
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011 via mobile

The Inn was totally empty and we were given a room in their annex in the ugliest room that seemed to be an office meeting room with a bed thrown in, the bed itself was uncomfortable and I had to run the water for about 10 minutes before it lost the rusty yellow tone and smell. I actually requested to be moved to the main house and was told no there was no room. It was extremely quiet and my car was the only one in the lot.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Spent two nights at A Cambridge House. Very comfortable room. Exceptionally clean bedroom and bathroom. Room came with a gas fireplace. Convenient location in north Cambridge, three blocks from the T. Lower prices than places closer to Harvard Square. Breakfast comprised of dry cereal, fruit, hard boiled eggs, and pastries so if you are looking for a hot breakfast you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed in the contemporary room. It was spacious and comfortable with the exception of the plastic wrapped mattress was a bit noisy.

As it was advertised as a B&B, I expected a full breakfast. What was available is boiled eggs, cereal and danish. And don't expect any coffee between 6am and 7am, there is none.

I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We arrived late - our evening flight delayed over an hour. Our taxi pulled in just past minuted. The manager had clearly stayed awake just to check us in, and seemed eager to go sleep.

The "Victorian" room was small and basic. Barely enough room to move around, but cozy and functional nonetheless.

Cleanliness was sorely disappointing. Our first night, the sheets seemed unwashed, and mascara smudges, lipstick marks, and long black hairs could be found abound. We were too tired to complain our first night, but the next morning mentioned it to the manager. We arrived back that evening to find the sheets cleaned and nicely made, but when we pulled them back to go to bed we found those same long black hairs again. The tray at the side of the table was still covered in napkins and coffee stains from the previous occupants.

The bathroom, as large as the bedroom, was adequate, but disappointing. More like a hostel, there was no proper ledge in the shower, and only careful showering kept the spray from covering the entire floor with water. The shower curtains had black mold growing across the bottom couple of inches. And the bathroom as a whole was always freezing, or sweltering.

The breakfast was better than your average bed and breakfast. And the staff are a delight - the highlight of our stay.

Overall, this place was not worth the money, and the poor cleanliness means that we will not stay here again or recommend it to someone else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

This review is for the "contemporary rooms." I guess there are Victorian rooms as well and they may be nicer. First the good news: I used to live in Davis Square and was back in town visiting friends, so Cambridge House's location could not be better. It's right on Mass Ave., just a few blocks from Davis. That said, for an inn that looked very charming from the outside, our room was surprisingly generic. It was clean and well-furnished, but we may as well have been staying in a Days Inn. The bed was not the most comfortable, either. It was fine for one night and we got a reasonable rate on Priceline.com, but I wouldn't necessarily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton,NJ
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Our daughter had just moved to Boston and the Cambridge House was within walking distance of her new apartment. I had just driven my daughters' car from San Diego to Boston. My wife had taken the train from Jersey to Boston to meet me there. We were very excited to be together again. The Cambridge House was a total disappointment.

The man who checked us in had the personality and likeability of a clam.

There are two houses next door to each other. One is supposely Victorian decor and the other modern. We were in the modern part. The room was tiny,the bathroom was a joke. We did have a nice view of the parking lot. When I went to shower there was a large clump of black hair on the mat in the shower. We hadn't used it yet.

Went to get coffee early the next morning, there was coffee but nothing else in sight. I went back later for more coffee and there were pastries and maybe some fruit. Didn't try any of it.

There is nothing special about this place. It's a totally for profit operation. Would not return, ever.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Cambridge House B & B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Cambridge House B & B Inn

Address: 2218 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02140-1836
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Cambridge House B & B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cambridge House B&B Inn is a lovely turn of the century Victorian offering fifteen rooms. Recently it added a few more hotel-style rooms in the next door property. All rooms are equipped with private baths and cable television. Many of our rooms have fireplaces; all rooms have air conditioning during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A Cambridge House B & B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Cambridge House Bed And Breakfast Inn
a Cambridge House Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Cambridge House B & B Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.