We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location with great rooms and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Pennsylvania, US
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Perfect location with great rooms and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

While it was still a bit chilly, I can't wait to return in the summer to use the kayaks which are free for guests to take out on the Charles River. The entire staff has excellent customer service. The complimentary wine reception in the evening, coffee in the morning, and flavored water service are wonderful touches to make the Marlowe feel like home. The rooms, beds, linens, and towels are all high quality. Parking at the adjoining mall parking is easy and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    306
    62
    20
    12
See reviews for
304
441
81
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were in town for a track meet at MIT in May. We wanted something close by and this fit the bill. The price was excellent but we didn't know what to expect. We travel a few times a month and usually stay in 4* hotels, sometimes 5*. Having been there now, I would choose this hotel over any of the hotels we usually stay at. It was an incredible find. We arrived at 5pm and they were serving wine in the lobby. That goes on every day from 5-6. Nice touch. Check in was fast and painless and at the staff was professional. Our room had a nice view of the Charles River and what was immediately notable was the size. It was at least 1/3 larger than your typical Boston room. The bed was very comfortable, with a good sized bath, minibar, safe, etc. all that you'd expect. Room service was fast and on a relative basis, inexpensive. There's a mall attached that's accessible from the hotel elevator. It's a short walk through the garage. The mall is small but has some higher end stores. All in all, the hotel is a high end boutique at a great price, in a good location and staffed with awesome employees. Probably the best summation is that we plan to go back next month for a weekend just to walk the area along the Charles and relax at the Marlowe. It was really fun.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have been staying here for a couple years, though I am not able to travel to Boston as often as I would prefer. The staff is fantastic, the restaurant is one I look forward to experiencing- usually breakfast, but I have had dinner and lunch, also. The rooms are clean and comfortable and decorated in a unique way. One might say the colors are cozy and lend a feeling of warmth.
When I have visited there were extra thoughtful gestures made by (the friendly) staff, as well as helping with out with various things, that made me feel very welcome and valued. It feels that this is a company that not only says they care about their guests, but do all they can to demonstrate it.

Room Tip: I favor the River View rooms...and the ones on the ends with canal and river have so much light and...
See more room tips
Green Features: Commendable, impressive and glad they do what they possibly can.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A nice hotel alternative to typical big box hotels. The staff were superbly helpful and the services excellent. Close to two subway lines for easy access to Boston downtown or just walk for 20 minutes. Decent fitness room, no pool, self park options. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We do care...about YOU! Thank you so much for staying!

Joe Capalbo, General Manager, joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful boutique hotel in Cambridge. The hotel is in a very nice neighborhood next to a large indoor mall and less then a five minute walk to the nearest T station (subway) at Lechmere. Take the Green Line to Park Street and you are at Boston Commons, a good place to start exploring the city.The staff at the Marlowe are very friendly and efficient. The rooms a large but you have to pay for WiFi. The hotel has a courtyard off the street that makes drop offs very easy.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for the great review! The Marlowe is definitely a great place to stay when wanting to explore Boston and Cambridge...thanks for pointing that out!

Joe Capalbo, General Manager, joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This boutique hotel, conveniently situated in Cambridge near the Science Museum & downtown Boston is as close to perfect as a traveler can get. The price is almost half that of neighboring properties, but the ambiance, service and convenience is twice that. The rooms are well designed, well appointed, spacious and comfortable. The amenities include free wine and appetizers every evening in the lobby. A very nice on-site restaurant (Bambara) serves all three meals and a Sunday brunch. Parking is incredibly reasonable. The staff are friendly and responsive. All in all, a find!

Green Features: Lots of opportunities to conserve and recycle, both in the rooms (towels, water, etc.) and throughout the building.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Glad you took advantage of one of our specials! We love being able to offer deals from time to time to let people experience the 5 star service!

Thanks again!

Joe Capalbo, General Manager, joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I will forever stay at this hotel when in Boston. Traveled with my sister and my 2 daughters and it was perfect for us. 2 minute walk from the science museum, connected to a mall. The staff was very friendly. My daughters wake up really early so we walked around the hotel so my sister could sleep in, the receptionist saw us and gave the girls each a cute little purse full of things for them to do. Only downside was I hate paying for parking... but I knew that staying in Boston. Other then that I would highly recommend!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
And we will forever welcome you back!

Thanks so much!

Joe Capalbo, General Manager, joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Green Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Hotel Marlowe is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.