We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed with a VERY caring staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed with a VERY caring staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a real treat and not the box cutter home away from home. I've been there 3 times and all 3 times were a real pleasure....Free wine and treats in the early evening, each time that were personal and caring fun things...My own personal gold fish one night, it's attached to a mall with decent restaurants, a small intimate bar where I met the B-52's on one stay and I always leave with a sense of of pleasure...THANK YOU HOTEL MARLOW!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
No, THANK YOU for continuing to stay with us!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    288
    61
    20
    12
See reviews for
286
411
77
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Easy valet, easy check-in, professional courteous staff. Great bed. Very clean room and bathroom. Great city location for our purposes. The restaurant, Bambara, was excellent. Restaurant attached to the hotel. The Galleria Mall is also connected to the hotel. When it rans you don't get wet. Nice weather offers the use of kayaks by hotel. First class.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Bambara is outstanding for breakfast, lunch or dinner, my favorite is the Lobstah Rolls (said in my think Bostonian accent!)

Thanks for the great feedback!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The staff was very helpful. They lend bikes with helmets to use on the bike paths nearby and kayaks to use on the nearby river. There is a wine and snack hour every night. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom large. We would definitely stay here whenever we come back to visit our granddaughter at Harvard Med School.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Bikes, kayaks and wine...what more could you ask for when coming to Cambridge and Boston right?? Hope to see you next time you are in town visiting your granddaughter!

Thanks,

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a wonderful hotel the Marlowe is! From the fabulous staff to the kayak and cycle hire to the daily complimentary wine hour. It was so good our original 5 night booking was extended to 11 nights in total...we didn't want to leave. Looking forward to a return visit. Thank you for helping to make our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Avoid room 742 which appears to be underneath the gym!
See more room tips
Green Features: Compostable cups for the complimentary hot drinks selection, a recycling bin in the room and free cycle and kayak hire to explore the surrounding area.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Marvelous Marlowe just rolls right off the tongue doesn't it? So glad to have you with us!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our first experience at Kimpton hotel brand.

Checked in was easy and smooth, staff at reception was friendly and casual.

We stayed in King deluxe room. Good size room with the view of the river. We also joined the InTouch loyalty program to obtain the free wifi and $10 mini bar credit.

We liked the little details the hotel provided, e.g. complimentary wine reception in the afternoon and complimentary bike and canoe which we took advantage of.

The location is a bit far from central boston and the subway station. However close to Cambridge area and next to a big shopping mall.

The reason why I don't rate this hotel excellent:
- the bed was really soft and not comfortable.
- the water pressure of the shower was weak.
- the door man looked tired all the time and could not be bothered.
- sometimes the lift smelled like poo (maybe because it's a pet friendly hotel?)
- staffs at breakfast were not as friendly and attentive as the staffs at reception and concierge.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room with a view of the park/river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Well, we've got some work to do after reading this. I am so sorry your experience was not the typical Marlowe experience, but I promise everything on here has or will be addressed.

Thanks,

Joe

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If this is the best hotel in Cambridge, consider staying in Boston.nothing wrong, but not at all a charming spot or hotel. Staff at best is ok. Animal skin replica robes must turn some people on. We would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for the feedback, I appreciate it! I agree the leopard robes are unique and people definitely enjoy them.

Thanks for giving us a try.

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I LOVE this hotel. It is located right near the river so you can go for a run with incredible views. In each room their are yoga mats which I used for a local yoga class. The rooms are impeccable and the front desk staff are super nice and always willing to help you. They gave me a couple of free passes to the Museum of Art and Science. It is also connected to a mall which is nice if you need to do some shopping or grab a bite. I just had a spectacular time staying here and I really enjoy the Kimpton touch. I'm looking forward to staying in more Kimpton properties after having such a good time here. If you want a great location in Boston, please try this place. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
As proud recipients of your only "5 star" so far, we say THANK YOU! Aren't the yoga mats great, glad you met "Matt" while you were here. Can't wait to have you back!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Green Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Hotel Marlowe is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.