We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Hotel we stay at in Boston area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take a "Brake"
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Only Hotel we stay at in Boston area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Superb treatment as soon as we pull in. Its our place to getaway from kids/work, for a weekend. Nice rooms, great staff, and worth the extra money for the upscale decor. Only if they had a pool and jacuzzi could it be better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    830
    264
    52
    21
    11
See reviews for
255
373
75
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel Marlowe is the nicest, most dog-friendly hotel I have ever stayed. The room was clean and comfortable (really comfy bed and pillows). The staff was extremely nice and helpful. I have stayed at many Kimpton hotels and love everyone of them. Hotel Marlowe is definitely my favorite. They are so kind to dogs. I have seen big dogs walking around the lobby. They took my dog to walk when the maid was cleaning the room. The only place the dog can't go are the restaurant areas, which I completely understand it. The staff were just so sweet and nice. It was such a great experience to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

i explored many hotel options while planning a trip to Cambridge and I kept going back to the Hotel Marlowe website due to the online reviews. Little did I know what an excellent choice it would be.
My son was accepted to Harvard and we traveled out here to tour the campus and to help solidify his decision. We ended up booking different flights but we were due to land at BOS twenty minutes apart which happened to be 11:35pm. But when my flight from Oklahoma was delayed i missed my connecting flight and I had to stay the night in Detroit while my son arrived in Boston very late at night.
I called the front desk at Hotel Marlowe when I realized I was not going to make it in that night and I was more than a little panicked not knowing if my son could check in without me. I spoke to a gentleman named Paul and he made sure that everything would be taken care of and they would get my son in the room as soon as he arrived.
The level of customer service was above and beyond and our experience with Hotel Marlowe was exemplary! This will be my go to place to stay when visiting my son.


  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on personal recommendations from friends and loved our first experience of a Kimpton hotel. A special mention to all the staff as they were so friendly & helpful and went the extra mile to advise.

The king view rooms are spacious & comfortable and we had free wifi and $10 credit in the mini bar as we signed up to the loyalty scheme in advance.

There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but it is available free in the lobby each morning.

We attended the wine tasting on our second day where free wine, beer, juice & snacks were a great afternoon pick-me-up.

The mall next door was handy as you can enter by the adjoining car park if it's raining. We ate at PF Changs one night & the Cheesecake Factory the second night & can recommend both.

The subway station is 10-15 mins walk & then a short ride to Boston city centre for $5 return. We only had one day to explore Boston but it is a truly beautiful city and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: I am allergic to dogs so we requested a non-pet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I'm a huge fan of the Kimpton Hotel chain, and this hotel's exceptional service, unique decor, and restaurant are all on par with Kimpton standards. The room was pleasantly large with a King size bed, yet the room still felt cozy and provided a comfortable stay. Our view was of the interior courtyard; if given the choice I recommend requesting an exterior room if possible. The Internet was fast (and free as a rewards member), evening wine reception tasty, and the restaurant delicious.

The subway ("T") was a 10-15 minute walk, certainly not unbearable but the days we were there just happened to be quite chilly. It's a quick trip to Harvard Square or anywhere in Boston if traveling on the Subway. Additionally, a mall is just around the corner & offers plenty of shopping and dining options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iceland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed on this hotel for three nights on a business trip and the greatest regret was not having my wife with me....the hotel was great and the service impeccable...The bed was comfortable, the shower warm and the towels soft...

Room Tip: My room wa in a corner with a wiev to a park, great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Got a deal at PP. Greeted by a lovely fireplace when walk into the hotel and everything was just WOW! Very friendly and nice staff too. Got a room facing east with the little lake and lovely spring flowers. Large, comfortable bed and nice curtain ensured nice sleep. Will definitely come back again!

Now some cons:

1. You need to register to get a free wireless in the room. The register is free, though, it is just a little extra effort you need to do to eliminate the $12 wireless fee.

2. Fridge is a bit noisy, although not interrupting my sleep, but it is really something not very nice when every other thing in the room is great. Also there are a lot of beverages in the fridge. While this is convenient when the weather is awful and you don't want to go out to buy food, it is so full that you almost have no room to put your own food.

BTW: besides two T-stop 5 and 15min away, there is a hubway stop (bike rental) just one block west of the hotel. If you want to go to the MIT T-stop in a faster way, you can grab a bike there and ride it to the T-stop (there is another hubway stop over there).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Hotel Marlowe is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.