We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm & Simplicity within 10 minutes of Downtown Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kendall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kendall Hotel to your Saves list
Kendall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Main Street, Cambridge, MA 02142   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Charm & Simplicity within 10 minutes of Downtown Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

The Kendall Hotel has the charm and simplicity of a B&B, with the ease and modern amenities of any big-chain hotel. If you're looking for a place with easy access to the Boston downtown area, as well as the city of Cambridge, AND do not want to feel like you're on a work trip, then The Kendall is the place to be! Extremely close to the T (you can get to the Harvard campus or downtown Boston in under 10 minutes) and is a short walk from the MIT campus and a scenic path along the Charles River. The breakfast buffet is quite good for a hotel breakfast (and better yet, is included!) and internet access is free as well. The staff is also very helpful and always courteous. When I return to the Boston area, I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FullOfWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Had a "blue" room on 6th floor; just roomy enough or the family. The breakfast was very good too. "T" is easy to access (3min to walk).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank locomotovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Wow, love this place. We have stayed at several hotels in and near Boston over the past decade, but the Kendall Hotel is simply the best. The people are great, the rooms are super clean and up-to-date, and the location, with very easy access to the "T" is excellent. This was not our first stay, and we always look forward to our return.

The front desk staff and the breakfast staff and the housekeeping staff were all very cheerful and were on top of everything. After a long flight we really appreciated the friendly greeting we received by the woman who checked us in, and who really helped out with restaurant advice and reservations. The rooms are quite modern and new, very clean and quiet, and decorated in a very pleasing manner. If you can afford a suite, they are spectacular and spa-like. Computers for guests to use (most handy for printing out boarding passes!) are hidden away in a room just off the lobby, and also in the top floor solarium where a complimentary weeknight wine tasting is hosted by the hotel manager, Brenda, who is incredibly helpful and great with guests. Nice extra touches are everywhere, including a bowl of apples on the front desk.

The free breakfast is exceptionally good and of high quality, and is served in their restaurant dining room. Every day there are different types of fresh baked scones, muffins and pancakes, to go with fresh made sausage or bacon and eggs, plus lots of fresh fruit. It was nice that fresh brewed coffee is laid out well before breakfast for early risers like my wife. I especially like the baked goods made with New England products like maple and cranberries, baked on site in their own kitchen.

The "T" subway station is very close, just up the sidewalk, and will transport you all over Boston fast and cheap. Saves a lot on cab rides and on higher priced downtown hotels that are without the charm and ambiance of the Kendall. There are restaurants in walking distance, including a "Legal Seafoods" across the street. But the best food is served in the Black Sheep Restaurant in the Kendall Hotel lobby. The Maine crab cakes and the diver scallops are delicious and the menu reflects lots of locally grown items. We invited our in-town friends to dine there with us and they just loved it. They live in Boston and didn't know it was there. We heard from them that they have already been back for both lunch and dinner.

The Kendall Hotel is just a great place to stay. For Boston and Cambridge, this is the place. We recommended it to several people who have since stayed and love it too. Two very enthusiastic thumbs up!
.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

If you want to something different (Old Firehouse) that's modern, personalble and very cozy, reasonably priced and right across the bridge to Boston, this is your place. We stayed in one of the new suites and I have to say it was the nicest hotel room/experience I have ever had (I have seen quite a bit of this world). This is the definition of a great boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteEricson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

What a gorgeous find! I've stayed here twice a year and enjoyed it so much. Great location by Kendall/MIT T station, <3

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Hill, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Kendall and it was WONDERFUL!! I was 100% blown away by this quaint little hotel!!! It didn't even feel like you were in a hotel, really...it felt like staying at a friends house:o)....the rooms are so unique and so tastefully decorated, the beds were perfect, the bedding was not your generic sheet/blanket...there were sheets with an actual thread count, soft fluffy pillows (and lots of them), warm soft comforters and cozy accent quilts. We stayed in a queen double, but we were with the rest of our family for a wedding, so we were able to see several different rooms and they were all laid out differently, and the suites were amazing. The location to the T was ideal, and the MIT bookstore/food court was across the street. We had a great complimentary breakfast every AM, and it was GOOD...even by southern standards!! The coffee was nice and strong and the bacon was crispy:o) We didn't get a chance to eat lunch or dinner at the Black Sheep during our stay, but the menu really looked good! Maybe next time....we did stop in each night for a nightcap and the service and quality of drinks were great. The only, ONLY even slightly negative thing i can come up with is just that the rooms weren't cool enough for me. We had the thermostat set as low as it would go and we coudln't get it any cooler than what felt like 75 or so. For some, that's not a big deal, but again, i'm southern and like my AC!!! It wasn't completely uncomfortable though because we had a great ceiling fan that would circulate the air and make it feel cooler.... We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Kendall. We are planning another trip in the spring and short of staying with family (for free), we won't stay anyplace else in Boston...EVER!! LOL!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinagirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

After many hours of reading reviews and comparing prices while planning our vacation we found The Kendall. The price was within our budget and cheaper than staying in downtown Boston, and the location to the T was excellent. The Kendall is very charming, clean,historic, and in a location that you can not beat!!! It is about 1 block from the T and it is only about a 10 min ride to the heart of Boston. The hotel is advertised as a "no frills" hotel, there is no doorman or room service, but it is very comfortable and it was a treat to stay there. When we come back to Boston we will stay here, and would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2SightSeeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#3 of 18 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Boston Marriott Cambridge
#15 of 18 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
1.5 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#4 of 18 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kendall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendall Hotel

Address: 350 Main Street, Cambridge, MA 02142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Kendall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Kendall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendall Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing