We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic European style hotel in Cambridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kendall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kendall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kendall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Main Street, Cambridge, MA 02142   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$15 Parking
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Cambridge
Albuquerque, NM
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Historic European style hotel in Cambridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the Kendall to attend the Holiday Pops at Symphony Hall. The hotel was decorated for Christmas which added to the special occasion. We have stayed at the Kendall at least a half a dozen times over the last few years and have always had an enjoyable stay. The rooms are clean, high end toiletries, comfortable beds, friendly staff and a breakfast buffet with fresh eggs, yogurt, and fruit. Sleep is a priority for me and the Kendall is a quiet oasis. We have never heard people in adjoining rooms nor been awaken by trash trucks in the morning, like we have at the Marlowe. The lobby area is a pleasant place to sit, have a drink and enjoy the company of other quests. We have enjoyed meeting people from other countries.

I travel a lot for work and often stay at a Marriott or Hilton because I earn points and get upgrades with their loyalty programs. But when we travel for pleasure I look for a hotel that is going to give me more than points. The Kendall has always provided a relaxing beach head in a wonderful city to enjoy. We park the car in the underground garage and either walk or take the T, which is just down the block, around Boston. In addition to the onsite restaurant, there is a Legal Seafoods across the street, the Blue Room, Hungry Mother, Flour Bakery, EVOO and other fine restaurants are within an easy walk in a wonderful part of Cambridge. The MIT campus is right next store and the Charles River Esplanade is only a few blocks away which makes for an enjoyable walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    135
    30
    18
    13
See reviews for
131
169
50
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Kendall Hotel during a recent business trip and I was delighted with it. It's a small hotel attached to a historic fire house--lots of Americana around, a delicious breakfast is included and it's hard to resist an afternoon sit-about in its comfortable lobby with fireplace. They didn't complain about or charge for the 20 boxes we had delivered (Christmas presents you know) and our room was very nice. One small drawback was weak water pressure in the shower but I forgive them given everything else being fantastic.

About a block from the Kendall T station, a long walk to Central Square (I tried, since the only thing missing around there was a pharmacy which I needed) and there are a number of casual restaurants nearby if you don't feel like getting out too far--a slushy Sunday meant Legal Seafood for us, right across the street.

Great place. I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We have stayed at The Kendall some 10 times in the last 1 year - and each stay's duration ranges form 5 -8 nights .I recommend this hotel highly - friendly staff , professional housekeeping - the rooms are very well cleaned ( consistently ) - everyone is personable and you know they are happy to work at the Kendall and happy to make the guests comfortable. If you do not expect a business class type hotel eg bellhop service, doorman/ lady etc - this is a perfect choice. Eg,And if you do have a lot of luggage or shopping to cart into the hotel...simply ask the front desk they will surely help if they have the resources and if not - they will suggest options .Safe , Clean, Friendly, Convenient for Business and Leisure and Very Pretty !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Lovely, boutique hotel, each room is different, nice big wooden bed with quilts and loads of cushions, homy feel, quiet, bathroom is ok with a bath nothing special here but clean. Coffee machine which is good for the coffee addict. Nice breakfast, you can sit by the fire :). Recommended if you want something different from the huge Hotels in Boston and that you are visiting Cambridge. Also close to Kendall/MIT stop so you can take the tube.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything down to the wonderful included breakfast was way above what you normally encounter in this price category. Beautiful rooms in a former fire station turned hotel. Best hotel I have stayed in in US.

The hotel is close to Subway station just a few stops from downtown Boston. Parking at a fair price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Whether on business or pleasure, this restored fire station is an utterly relaxing and fun place to stay. Throughout lobby, halls, and rooms the decor is like a fine inn, not like the surrounding "formula" hotels. Great location near to T stops, MIT, and restaurants. Room includes ample buffet breakfast, storage of luggage without cost, and a small restaurant if you want to eat in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have 3 nights booked in Kendall using internet 3rd party platform. When I arrived to the hotel (it was Sunday, about 8pm) nobody was in the reception, only the piece of paper with "will be back in few minutes" left. So it took maybe 10m for the guy to come back. Having my passport and booking confirmation, he could not find it in the system. After some searching - well, your booking had been canceled due to some problems with the card. You should have received an email. Of course there was no email at all. Finally he declared he found "the last remaining room for me". Of course price was about 200$ higher than in my booking confirmation - but what could I do being left there with bags after long flight from Europe. I took the room, which appeared to be a size of the post stamp ( maybe 16m2 - you may see the picture).

Room itself was clean and cosy - still very small. If you put ironing desk there it was literally difficult to move around.

Internet is included and works fast and stable everywhere.

Breakfast buffet is ok, but cannot compare in any case with this you may be used to from e.g. Marriott.

In general - cosy, little place but due to the problems mentioned above I would rather stick to proven chain hotels with standardized (and working) processes and policies.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kendall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendall Hotel

Address: 350 Main Street, Cambridge, MA 02142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kendall Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kendall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendall Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kendall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.