We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atwood's Tavern

Atwood's Tavern
877 Cambridge St, Cambridge, MA 02141-1430
617-864-2792
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 553 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Delicious food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I met some co-workers here for dinner and drinks. We sat outside in the patio area and is was great. The staff is attentive and friendly. The food is really really good! The fish tacos are amazing along with the muscles app. Lots to choose from for drinks. This is a great place to hang out and catch up with your friends or grab dinner with your family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
420 reviews 420 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great meal and friendly staff but hard to find a seat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We went right around 5ish and it was already packed with one or two tables open. But when we walked in there was not hostess so we lost one table by the entrance but then we flagged a waiter and sat us right away.

The food was excellent and plenty of it. I'm still full just thinking about it. I asked for honey mustard and our waitress made it herself. That's a great compliment to the staff that goes along the way to please customers....thank you!!!!

Great beer selection as well as wine but if you go there that's for the beer!

Hard to find parking since it is in a busy street.

Definitely will come back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved this place!! Great food and beer selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

All the great things I heard about Atwood's are true. A great selection of beers including many local brewers just getting started. A very difficult decision to limit it to 2 or 3. The New Orleans Fish Stew was really well done, brimming with seafood and rice. It had a really nice bite to it but not overwhelming. I would get it next time if they don't offer the Pork Belly, Grits and Brussels Sprouts. That sounds great!!

Enjoyed the band early on a Saturday (6 PM ish). Sat right in front of them but was not blown away with sound. A very soulful guitar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Atwood's features a variety of appetizers and main dishes, and a large number of beers. The main attraction for me was the "psycho-bluegrass" band playing during dinner. Featuring mandolin, upright bass, guitar, and banjo, the band played a variety of uptempo bluegrass classics along with some other songs (such as "Foxy Lady") with a bluegrass twist. Another band was setting up as we left, so I assume music is a big attraction here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved the warm, friendly atmosphere in Atwood's Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

You walk inside out of the chilly streets of Cambridge and immediately feel the warmth. The bar and tables are all a warm, honey brown wood that just feels good when you see it. I met up with a friend and we were quickly greeted and allowed to choose whatever table we liked. Service is friendly but never pushy. After trying a couple of the great ale selections (the choice of beer and ale is extensive), we both ended up getting the same dish...brown ale braised beef with house-made spaetzle. Talk about something to warm you up! It was so good and just fell apart when touched with a fork. I think they only give you a knife to cut the carrots. The spaetzle noodles were delicious in the gravy of the dish, which had a nice mouth feel but was not too thick. The strawberry rhubarb tart with vanilla bean ice cream (this is the real stuff, just check the black specks in the photo) was absolutely amazing! The bar itself was occupied by a bunch of people enjoying their food and beer, but just talking. No loud sports TVs or other chain bar junk, just a great, warm true tavern atmosphere. So happy to find this place and will be back again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atwood's Tavern also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Atwood's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atwood's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.