We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atwood's Tavern

Atwood's Tavern
877 Cambridge St, Cambridge, MA 02141-1430
617-864-2792
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #17 of 535 restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were looking at the menu outside Atwood's when a passerby said 'Go there, it's brilliant' - so we did. That night and the following night! The food was really good, generous helpings, original and quite delicious. Service also very attentive. Additional bonus was the music - the blue grass band sat in a circle in the middle of the room and clearly just enjoyed what they were doing. It was a great evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    11
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped into this low-key East Cambridge spot on a Saturday for lunch. There was a small group there, evidently a few regulars and a few others like us, looking for a quick nosh. They have a nice selection of brews on tap as well as a good assortment of bottles and a full bar. We tried the grass-fed beef burger (they also have a turkey and a veggie) which is locally raised -- well, West Brookfield, which isn't too far away. It was cooked to order, a nice size and with a good beefy taste. The crispy pork belly with grits and brussels sprouts was amazing. A big slab of tender-crispy belly, creamy grits and roasted sprouts that you'd probably pay $25 or $30 for in Harvard Square. Here, a mere $15. An excellent value. We also tried the chocolate pudding. It's more like a cross between a dense chocolate mousse and an ice cream. Simply delicious.

Atwood's offers live music most nights. We'll be back to enjoy the laid-back atmosphere (in other words, the paint could be touched up a bit) and to work our way through their menu of comfort food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

A group of 4 were in town on course and based upon reviews we went for dinner and drinks. We had a great time - service was excellent and food was very good. Definitely recommend. As a plus one of our group left their wallet at the pub. When we returned an hour later staff had the wallet and all cash and cards were there too. We were grateful for the integrity of the patrons and staff who found

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent mellow pub with great live music and beer selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The title pretty much says it all. This is an excellent place to hang out, chat with a friend, grab some high end pub fare and choose from a massive selection of craft beers. The space is cozy - lots of wood, and low lighting - and the live music is usually excellent and cheap (often just $5). Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely Patio and Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Kate just moved a block down the street. We stopped in last night for a drink before going to dinner elsewhere. Great bar, great beer and spirits selection.

After helping out at the new apartment today, we went for lunch. Jim had the turkey burger and fries, I had the veggie burger and fries and Kate had the hamburger and arugula salad. Everything was fresh! The beer was great and all were satisfied.

Very good local place!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atwood's Tavern also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Atwood's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atwood's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.