We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value just across the river in Cambridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Monsignor O'Brien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
389 helpful votes 389 helpful votes
“Good Value just across the river in Cambridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

I stayed at this Hampton Inn in Cambridge over the Christmas holiday and wasn't disappointed. The hotel was a good value, newer and clean in a relatively safe semi-industrial area about a block from the end of the Green line Lechmere T station. I arrived at Logan airport and took the free bus/shuttle to the Blue Line Airport station and there purchased a $15 seven day pass for unlimited rides on the subway which got me to the hotel, after transferring at the Government Center station, in only about 15 minutes. If you drive and I didn't, there are a limited number of free parking spaces under the hotel. My suggestion if you are coming to Boston is to take the T and see the city like a local - the subway goes everywhere and is very easy to navigate even if you don't normally take public transit. While there really isn't anything in the immediate area you could easily walk to the Cambridgeside Galleria Mall where there are plenty of places to shop and eat.

The hotel was very nice - the building and furniture appeared to be clean and new. The room included a sofa, desk, flat screen TV, iron, ironing board and safe. The rooms also had those noisy under-window heater/air conditioners that are very loud and don't do a good job of regulating the temperature. The bed and linen were very nice but the pillow was very mushy for a side sleeper like myself.

There was a free Internet-enabled PC with printer in the lobby to check e-mails and print out airline boarding passes. There was also Wi-Fi available if you had your own netbook or notebook computer. Breakfast was included with the room and included the standard Hampton Inn items of waffles, eggs, coffee, juice, danish, cereal, etc.

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would recommend it to others. I got a good rate online by reserving ahead using the Hilton website and it was significantly cheaper from where I usually stay in the Back Bay section of town. The only downside was some street and between room noise in addition to the loud under window heaters.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear Mark1368:

Thank you for such a thoughtful, thorough review of your recent visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge! We love hearing how great our location is, and I'm glad that you found your accommodations clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    248
    91
    27
    13
See reviews for
193
118
48
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SE Asia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel for the week prior to Christmas. We stayed in a room with two Queen beds, and that came with full breakfast. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Although the room wasn't particularly spacious, we never felt cramped as we could always sit in the dining area to surf and enjoy 24 hour coffee and a good selection of teas. The bathroom was spacious and clean.

As we were there for a week, we were really appreciated the fact that the hotel had a laundry room.

The hotel was 5-7 min walk to the Lechmere subway station and bus terminal. There was a direct bus to Harvard Square. It was a 10 walk from the Galleria mall with a food court (good restaurant there -- Cheesecake factory).

We really liked that there was no parking charges for our car in the hotel basement. What we really appreciated was that we didn't have to dig our car out from all thatsnow from the blizzard, unlike those who had to park their cars in the open.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel. It was definitely value for money. We are planning to come back the next time we visit Boston.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear Lifeduka:

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review your stay at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge.

We appreciate your time and thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Boston/Cambridge area.

Warm regards,

Lisa Meagher O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittenango, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I've reviewed a ton of Hamptons. They are all about the same in terms of bedding, showers, internet, etc. I'll save you the details. Hamptons are good. Very consistent. And for business travelers, thats very important.

Positives from this Hampton:
* 2 minute walk to the Lechmere Station (Green Line). This is huge. Don't underestimate how important it is to be near pubic transportation. Even the other Hilton or Marriott properties in downtown Boston arent this close. Two stops to the North End (10 minutes), and if you want to go all the way to the end of the D-Green line, it takes an hour. Want to go to BC, give yourself 90 minutes, but its all on the Green Line.

* Lechmere Station is also a bus station. There's a direct bus to Harvard Square from the station. This also is huge. You can also take a bus to MIT, with one change of bus lines. If you're afraid of public transportation, dont be, and just ask someone. Boston citizens are actually very helpful.

* FREE parking in Boston?! Its unheard of. Make sure you check how much parking is at other hotels before comparing prices. I've spent $45 a night at a hotel near the Convention Center. Crazy. Its free here. Or better yet, dont rent a car. Its Boston. Take a cab from the airport (prob $35) to the hotel, and then use the Green Line to get anywhere.

* Price. Its arguably the cheapest Hilton property in the "city" of Boston. You could stay out in Tewksbury or somewhere and get a hotel for $150 a night, but you're in Boston. You're going to pay. Save your rental car money, and pay the extra to stay in the city.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

The friendly service and clean rooms are fine, per se, but good grief... $400 per night in the middle of an industrial park ???!! We could have stayed in the centre of Boston for less money.
The hotel is next to the Lechemere T stop, but otherwise in the middle of nowhere..no restaurant, news stand, starbucks ...nothing. Not within walking distance of the centre of Cambridge....or of anything else, for that matter.
Nice bedding, but... plastic cups, plastic drinking glasses, no newspapers. Bare-bones breakfast in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Dear Spadina2:

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel and it's location. We're always looking for ways to improve our service and comments such as yours keep us moving forward.

We are conveniently located just a 5 minute walk from the CambridgeSide Galleria Mall, home of P.F. Changs, Cheesecake Factory, Starbucks, Macy's, etc. A host of fabulous restaurants are less than a mile from our front door. Public Transportation is diagonally across the street from our hotel for a short 3 stop trip into Boston's famous North End and Faneuil Hall Marketplace.

We hope you would give the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge another opportunity to host you should your future endeavors bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Fall in New England is probably the best time of year and it's no wonder prices are generally high for hotels. This hotel was still in the $200+ range, but it was nice to be just outside of Boston. We were able to walk to Legal Sea foods (20 min.) from the hotel and walk through the MIT neighborhood, as well as take one train stop to Boston. Don't expect an out of this world continental breakfast, but there's plenty of variety to find something sufficient (waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, bagels, muffins, etc.)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Dear bdlphn:

We have to agree with you, Fall in New England is hard to beat! It's so nice to hear your thoughts on our hotel and it's location and thank you for telling others all about it!

If your travels bring you back to our area, we hope you will call us to stay again!

Regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was a standard Hampton Inn.. the area is a little sketchy, but at least the subway is right across the street, so you don't have to walk very far. Rooms are average-- clean, but not fancy at all. Parking is free in their underground garage, but there is minimal space, so beware. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly and there was a good amount of breakfast choices.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Dear Lindsay57:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience and your kind words about our team. Even though we are located right in the city, the neighborhood is very safe.

At this time, we do provide complimentary parking in our underground garage and even though it might not look it, there is space available for each guest room.

Again, we thank you for your comments as we strive to be the hotel of choice for traveler's visiting Boston/Cambridge.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I had to call the hotel before I arrived and the good service started with that phone call and continued through check-out. The front desk staff were always helpful with directions and recommendations. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The room had a flat screen TV with a comfortable desk and chair. The bathroom was clean and offered nice toiletries. The breakfast was excellent and offered hot food like omelettes, potatoes and waffles. There was 24 hour cofee, tea and cocoa in the lobby. All around excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Dear spap:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to our hotel. It's always a pleasure to hear of our guests' experience while visiting with us. If your travels should bring you back to Boston/Cambridge, we'd love to be your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Address: 191 Monsignor O'Brien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hampton Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.