We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average with Good and Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Monsignor O'Brien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average with Good and Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I picked this hotel since it was close to an early morning business event I was attending. My check-in was fast and efficient thanks to the friendly Joe. I had no issues with parking as others alluded to, spaces were small but available and security gated.

Unfortunately the HVAC system was in poor shape making more noise than the nearby rail line. I turned it off so I could sleep but a near record cold March night awoke me and I had to endure the sreeching noise.

Breakfast was good and checkout was okay as well. The hotel overall seemed a bit dated and in need of a refresh.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear LOUIE L:

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your time and comments.

We do apologize the HVAC unit experienced some difficulty. We have made our maintenance team aware of this.

Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you back should you travel back to our area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    229
    87
    26
    13
See reviews for
178
110
44
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

everything average but the location. we will not come back to this hotel. The quality of the reakfast buffet was awful. They knocked at our door at 8:00am to clean it. They made a mistake with the bill that still has not been resolved.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Maria M:

Thank you for posting your review about your recent visit to the Boston/Cambridge area. We're sorry to hear we were not able to meet your expectations. It is my understanding the initial billing question has been addressed and rectified. Please contact us directly if you wish to disuss.

We hope you will consider staying with us during future travels to the area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Overall the hotel is nice, clean and offers a decent breakfast. The website is misleading and implies that parking is guaranteed, but I spent a whole evening shuffling my car from one space to another to avoid a ticket - hated this. Make sure you have a back-up plan for parking if you go here. However, the proximity to the green line (T) can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Elizabeth G:

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your recent visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We appreciate your feedback.

I do apologize you experienced trouble with parking. We do have complimentary underground parking on site for our guests (one vehicle per guest room) and if a space wasn't found, our team would have been more than happy to assist with locating one.

We hope you will stay with us during your next visit to the area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island,NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had a parking garage which was really convenient, but it was not locked or gated. Rooms smelled old and musty . In a somewhat sketchy area so dont go walking around alone at night. There is no view and it is a hotel on a major road. The entrance is very easy to miss . On whole it was just average

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear dms8555:

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input. Our location is extremely safe and well-lit. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel has great staff and is two stops on the T from the TD Garden North. It's conveniently located to Kenmore Square and the T. The hotel is clean, it has free breakfast and free parking. The rooms are small and clean. It suited our needs. We have stayed at Hampton Inns in Lenox, Ma. and Saratoga Springs, N.Y. The food and the service are similar. These other two properties are much nicer, but they aren't in Boston/Cambridge. we would stay at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear russ12110:

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We appreciate your input.

We look forward to being your host during future travels to the area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have stayed in at least 7 Hampton Inns in the past year all over the country, assumed this hotel would be just like the others. I was wrong. Positives: clean room, clean bathroom, quick service when I called the front desk because the smoke detector needed a new battery. Negatives: parking garage is AWFUL....we got to hotel at 10:00 pm and I was able to pull into garage but had no warning that it would end and I would be stuck for 1/2 hour trying to back myself out of a very small space because cars are parked all over. We lucked out when someone left and I was able to squeeze in to that last spot in the garage. Rooms are freezing. Desk attendant told me to use wall thermostat which I did putting it up to 74. Room never climbed above 65 our entire stay (which luckily was only for 1 night). Location of hotel is not great. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Kyle M:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderlecht, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

An hotel with a very good service and great location if you travel by car. It is very accessible close to public transportation (3 stops to Boston), a shopping mall and with free parking. ideal to discover Boston and its surrondings!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear JeanLK:


Thank you for your recent review of your visit to our hotel. We appreciate your feedback.

We're happy to hear our location was perfect for taking in the many sites of Boston and Cambridge. Public transportation just across the street makes our hotel so easy and convenient.

We look forward to your return visits to the Boston/Cambridge area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Address: 191 Monsignor O'Brien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hampton Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.