We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & free parking, breakfast and internet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Monsignor O'Brien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location & free parking, breakfast and internet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Cambridge Hampton Inn March 30 - April 4 2013 for our family Spring Break trip to Boston. After much research, this hotel appeared to be one of the few affordable options in the area. It disproved the negative addage: "You get what you pay for". We didn't pay for parking - got it for free. Didn't have to buy breakfast every day - it was included. Got access to the internet - without extra charges. All of that for a reasonable daily rate and with the consistently high quality we've had whenever staying at a Hampton Inn. Staff was helpful and friendly!
With the exception of our day trip to Salem, we walked everywhere during our stay (including the entire Freedom Trail and the Science Museum, only a few blocks away). We had a little trouble finding dinner restaurants, but one night we ordered in (from Lamole) and ate in the lobby/dining area of the hotel. Cambridge Galleria Mall is not far away and has some sit down chain restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room faced Monsignor O'Brien Pkwy and the heavy sleepers in my family had no trouble with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear AbbyCat3:

Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn Cambridge. We're glad to hear our location was the perfect spot for your visit and you were able to take advantage of our complimentary amenities!

We hope you will visit with us again on your next trip to Boston/Cambridge!

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    229
    87
    26
    13
See reviews for
178
110
44
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for the Boston Marathon (4/15/13). Though the trip was marred by the terrible bombing, this hotel provided a wonderful home-base for us and was SUPER convenient to the T (green-line), to get in and out of Boston. Very close to the mall as well (walking-distance), so overall a GREAT pick.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Jillian T:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. Under the circumstances of that day and those to follow, we're happy to hear you were able to take advantage of all that Boston and Cambridge have to offer.

We look forward to being your hotel of choice the next time your travels bring you back to our area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hampton Inn in mid-april. Free underground parking, right across the street from the T stop made a rainy miserable day easier to handle. Bed was incredibly comfortable, room was spacious and clean. Free breakfast buffet was perfect for us, eggs, oatmeal, fruit, toast. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, gave me driving directions several times. Would definitely stay here again.

We left the day before the Marathon, happy for us, but so sad for Boston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear FussyTraveler99:

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. Your feedback is important to us! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay despite the rainy weather.

If your travels bring you back to the Boston/Cambridge area, we would welcome the opportunity to be your host.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed there this past school vacation week; was supposed to be for 3 nights but we only stayed 1 night due to the bombing at the marathon. The staff were very understanding about our early checkout and graciously said they would credit us back points for the 3rd night (Hilton Honors points). Our room was very comfortable and clean, hotel was quiet, lobby was really nice - we actually got delivery and ate in the lobby at one of their dining tables and watched their large-screen TV. Continental breakfast was vast - lots of options and fresh. Very convenient. Hotel is a 1-minute walk to the Lechmere station, with easy subway access to to downtown. Maybe a 10- or 15-minute ride to South Station.On-site free parking is a GREAT value! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Jenn2Cents:

Thank you for taking the time to post such a thoughtful review of your recent visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We appreciate your feedback and we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed all of the wonderful amenities our hotel offers.

We look forward to being your host should your travels bring you back to the Boston/Cambridge area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, VA
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well located across the street from Lechmere T Station. Short walk to Boston Garden and Museum of Science. Excellent service, good breakfast and free parking to boot. Rooms were a bit small, but up to typical Hampton Inn standards

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned home after a 3 night stay in Room 511. The hotel is roughly a $25 cab ride from Logan International Airport, and also conveniently located near the Lechmere T station (tram), the CambridgeSide Galleria, and a 10-15 minute walk north of the Kendall/MIT subway station. Check-in is swift, there is a hot breakfast offered in the main lobby every day from 6-10 am (complete with yogourt, cereal, fruit, juice, toast, pastries, eggs, sausage, and two waffle irons for fresh waffles in the morning). Elevators are smartly located right beside the main door for easy access to rooms. Wifi in the rooms, hallways, and lobby - fast and easy to connect. Rooms are clean, duvets and bedsheets are freshly washed prior to a new guest's arrival. Ice machines on all 7 floors. Clean. Overall, the hotel has lots going for it in an expensive market.

This hotel would have been a 3 or 4 out of 5 in my books if it weren't for the three following negative points - so please take note:

1) The walls are super thin, and the room doors slam if you are not careful - the guests in room 513 were having quite the time (if you get my drift) in their room at 4:00 am and sounds of screaming, bouncing bed springs kept me up for 45 minutes. Prior to that, from about 2-3 am, they were coming in and out of the room, allowing their door to slam behind them. Traffic can get loud outside if you're in a room facing the road, and the A/C unit is loud. The last two are not deal breakers for me, but light sleepers just be aware (note I consider myself a deep sleeper).

2) One of the members of the front desk staff called a cab for me, said it would take ten minutes, and twenty minutes later, it still hadn't arrived. I was running late for my orientation session at Harvard, and that's why I needed the cab. I would have appreciated some notification or update. Frustrated, I just walked down to Kendall MIT and arrived late to cut my losses.

3) If you need the front desk to call a cab for you, request a cab with a meter or give them a phone number for a reputable cab company to dial on your behalf. better yet, call on your own. This front desk staffer chose an option which cost me $35, which amounts to price gauging. Worse yet, the van that picked me up combined my fare with two other passengers from another hotel which caused a minor ten minute delay, but I requested a TAXI, not a transportation service with no formal pricing list. I should not have gotten into the van, and I should have asked for the price first.

I would definitely approach situations 2) and 3) differently, and the hotel is still acceptable enough for a repeat stay if absolutely necessity, with a keen awareness that there may be at least one member of the front desk staff not looking out for the best interests of their guests. (Note cleaning staff were AWESOME).

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the street, away from the ice machine, and a bit further from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear jason416:

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cambridge. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service at our front desk and assure you this is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff. We are always looking for ways to improve our customer's experience and your feedback will help us to achieve this goal moving forward. Thank you for your input on the look and feel of our guestrooms and we hope you will stay with us again. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Description on the web sounded much better than the reality. Geographically the location is good, but physically it's not on a pleasant street / neighborhood.
Room was OK, a bit crammed, nothing special.

Parking--which is a plus, is filling up pretty early and you need to park in "no parking" zones to be able to find a spot, which I hate doing.

Surprising on the positive side was the breakfast quality and service, there was also nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear ArielZ28:

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback on our breakfast service and parking situation and we will use your input as we constantly strive to improve our guests' experience. We hope you return to stay with us the next time you are in the city and let us know how we are doing.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Address: 191 Monsignor O'Brien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hampton Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.