We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Monsignor O'Brien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just don't”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Poor location, old building, under renovation, breakfast room more of a dirty chaotic cupboard, rooms old, small, dark, noisy, too cold or too hot, not good value, unfriendly staff, ugly area. What can I say, apart from that, great!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear PWG63:

We’re very sorry we didn’t provide you with the high quality of amenities and service you expected during your recent stay at our hotel. As you noted, we are currently undergoing renovations to improve our guests experience and we apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort this may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again and be one of the first to experience our new and improved Perfect Mix Lobby.


Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    224
    86
    26
    13
See reviews for
177
109
43
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked for one night during Thanksgiving week. The place stated lobby would be going under remodel during this time but OMG!! The place was a disaster! Literally jackhammering in the lobby with ceramic pieces flying around and so loud I couldn't hear the poor front desk people yelling across the desk to me! The reason I am rating it average is even though I think Hilton should have DEFINITELY closed this hotel during a MAJOR remodel/reconstruction - the employees at the front desk were so polite, apologetic and helpful that you couldn't help but smile. They were in the dust and mess along with the guests and, obviously, they did NOT get to decide to keep the hotel open so why blame them? The breakfast area was COLD and dusty with very little selection and seating. You didn't even WANT to stay for the breakfast and the construction workers kept the back door open which was right next to this 'breakfast area'. Honestly, I expect more - MUCH MORE - from my stays with Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Don't book until the hotel confirms that the DESTRUCTION is over!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear MaryRN66:

Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge.

Yes, the entire first floor of our hotel is currently under complete renovation and we're excited about the changes it will bring to our hotel! The beginning of 2013 will bring the Perfect Mix Lobby and Jump Start Fitness to our hotel and we're thrilled to be able to offer these to our guests!

We have made every effort to notify our guests and potential guests of the construction with the information posted on our brand webpage, on all third party reservation sites and it is also highlighted on all confirmation emails that are sent to our confirmed guests. We have also limited the begin and end time for any noise construction (it cannot begin before 10 am or last after 7pm). We realize this is not an ideal situation, however, we have also assisted guests with finding alternate accommodations when their expectations have been different than what we have communicated.

Again, I thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Woodstock, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently stay at this hotel to attend a business meeting I had at the TD Banknorth Garden in Boston, MA. I choose the hotel due to the fact that it was only two (2) stops on the MBTA Green Line to the Garden. Upon entering the hotel I found the staff to be very helpful and accomodating. My room was clean and the parking conenient. The breakfast in the morning was good also. The price was reasonable. In fact the only reason I gave this hotel an average rating is the room looked very dated. It look as if the furniture needs to be updated. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that needs to stay in Boston without paying the downtown Boston prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Good location by T stop, complimentary breakfast and free parking. Good base for exploring Cambridge, Beacons Hill/USS Constitution and downtown Boston. Only 10 min cab ride from airport. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went to Boston in September for my friends wedding. We made it into a mini-vacation and had a great time. The hotel was very convenient to the T and had free parking. I thought the breakfast was great. I don't need anything fancy and there were tons of choices! We love it there and will keep that on the list. We got a great deal on the hotel and will be staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Longano:

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your recent visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge.

We truly appreciate your feedback and thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We love Hampton Hotels because the quality is fairly consistant, but the manager and front desk staff of the Cambridge Hampton went out of their way to assist us. I had to check out before my husband's conference was over, and they let me leave my car in their parking deck while I shopped at the Galleria nearby - which I greatly appreciated. I easily took the trolley into Boston from the stop nearby. The hotel is nicely decorated, very clean, with exceptionally friendly housekeepers and staff. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear CTRight:

Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We appreciate your time and wonderful comments about our staff and hotel.

We hope you will visit again should your travels bring you back to the Boston/Cambridge area.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had read the reviews of this hotel before I booked it. I agree with most of them. The Hampton Inn is a good choice if you want to be in the Cambridge area. It's located very close to the Lechmere stop on the T, the subway in Boston. We didn't need to use it this trip though. You can also walk to the Cambridge Galleria which has floors of shops and restaurants. There is a parking garage underneath the hotel for guests. It's not a large lot and it's laid out strangely but it's nice to have parking included in the price. Our room was nice. It was very clean and modern. It wasn't four star but it was fine for our purposes. I liked that they had 4 bath towels in the bathroom. Most hotels like this give you 3 and I'm always asking for more. The breakfast included was your typical Hampton Inn breakfast but it was fine. My only complaint was the price. This weekend was the Head of the Charles, a huge rowing regatta as well as Parents Weekend at a number of nearby universities so they jacked up the price. The other hotels that we have stayed at in that same neighborhood wanted so much more money that I wouldn't book them. We have never paid this much money for a Hampton Inn but this was our best alternative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Symmesgirl:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to being your host should your future travels bring you back to the Boston/Cambridge area.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Address: 191 Monsignor O'Brien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hampton Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.