We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Movie buffs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brattle Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brattle Theatre
40 Brattle Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 876-6838
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Activities in Cambridge
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Wayland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Movie buffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We didn't go on our recent visit, but this is THE place for vintage films and film festivals (devoted to an actor or director or subject). If you like movies the way they USED to be, go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A great local theater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I love the Brattle because of how you can see old movies on the big screen. Recently they showed one of my favorites from the 80's, the Last Starfighter. With fresh popcorn slathered with real melted butter and an ice cold locally made root beer, I climbed the stairs to the balcony.
It is a truly unique step back into the old days of theater movie watching.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Movies, great theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A friend recommended seeing a movie at the Brattle Theater - "Cabin in the Woods" was playing, which I had missed a few months earlier during general release. The movie was excellent, as I expected, and I went on to see it again the next night, but I wasn't expecting to be so impressed by the theater...the small, tucked-away theater and personal atmosphere were so refreshing compared to the crowds at AMC in downtown Boston! Beers at the concession stand were a welcome surprise as well. Afterwards, we had plenty of choices in Harvard Sq. for food and/or drink.

A memorable night out - looking forward to my next visit!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Always play great off beat Movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place always has something wonderful or interesting going on - if you live nearby or like to ride the T then you should have their website or brochure handy.... Also the Harvard Book store always does nice readings there for very cheap with amazing authors - I saw Nick Flynn recently give a talk!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“THE place for movies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Brattle is not a megaplex with videogames and a giant popcorn machine etc. etc. It's just a fun place to see great movies of a certain vintage. The ultimate experience, of course, is to see Casablanca at the Brattle. So, if you are spending time in the Square, include the Brattle in your cultural diet. It's real.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brattle Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brattle Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.