We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kendal Square Keeper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalyst

Catalyst
300 Technology Square, Cambridge, MA 02139
617-576-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Catalyst is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 554 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Boston, MA
1 review
“Kendal Square Keeper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have eaten here a few times both business and pleasure recent dinner for six:
Solid to exceptional food, never had a bad meal - I am a sucker for poached egg as dressing - the asparagus salad did not disappoint, beets and Pate special were all well made and presented. we do miss the tuna tartar appetizer and wish you would bring it back.
For the mains Tournedos were the winner at our table (loved the creamed Kale), scallops a close second, everybody liked what they had a lot.
deserts were great Pavlova and Rhubarb were the stars lots of lighter options after a big meal were appreciated
Great drinks and wine offerings - wine idiosyncratic and well selected lots to try, For beer a bunch on tap - wish they had a wheat beer on tap given the weather. Inventive cocktails were a hit, bartenders work hard and are very inventive, if you give them some direction and let them riff.
Waiter service was professional, yet fun and very helpful - Meal was delivered with excellent pacing - buss boys could use a bit more training.
Room is spectacular, lots of glass, and steel, big bar, friendly bar keeps, different feel from the front dining room which is the most formal, there is aback room with view of the kitchen that feels more like a neighborhood place with a good view of the kitchen - Kitchen does a very good burger. Out front is a big fireplace, with lovely private room . upholstered chairs are a nice touch, but in light grey the stains show...
All in all a great place with a bunch of different personalities, pick the one that is right for you and go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    43
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent a long weekend in Boston, stayed in Cambridge. This restaurant was a few blocks from hotel so was very convenient after a long day in Boston city. The beet salad is superb, as are the scallops and salmon entrees.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Chef William knows his stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I LOVED this restaurant. The dining room ambiance is contemporary and soothing. The bar area is fun, lively and with a view to the open kitchen. The wait staff was attentive, friendly and professional.
Our appetizers included a warm asparagus salad, chicken mousse with in-house made pickled vegies and tuna tartare made two ways. Hard to choose a favorite! For entrees, we had blue cod, and two different filled pastas (also made in-house) a fresh pea and lobster and one with truffles. If you feel like you need old fashioned comfort food, get an order of fries for the table. Best fries ever!
We saved room for dessert. I loved my bing cherries, black pepper pavlova. Soo good.
Experiment with their signature cocktails. They have lots of delish choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb Dinner for 42”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a rehearsal dinner for 42 people in June. The restaurant banquet / meeting manager, Renee was very helpful in planning our dinner. Renee listened to what we needed, made very helpful suggestions and guided us on menu selection. She is knowledgeable and easy to work with.
Our guests raved about the food. Everything was well executed- reception, ambience, service and especially the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was my second visit. The meal and wine selection were outstanding. The waiters are helpful and the place is clean. Very nice outside eating area as well. Will come back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalyst also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Catalyst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalyst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.