We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going solo.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Side Bar & Grill

East Side Bar & Grill
561 Cambridge Street, Cambridge, MA 02141
(617) 661-3278
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 505 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going solo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Another night away from home on my own and I needed to eat some good food. Using Trip Advisor I found East Side Bar & Grill and wasn't disappointed. I walked in at 6pm on a Friday night and easily found a seat at the bar. The staff were incredibly friendly, they made you feel comfortable and looked after you without intruding on your space or time. The tap beer was great 'Christmas in a Pint' to be recommended! I had the seafood extravaganza which, although too big, was great in every way, mussels, clams, prawns, squid all cooked to perfection with an Italian spicy tomato sauce on top of linguini. I might go again tonight it was that good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    19
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Saturday supper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Four of us had supper on a Saturday. The service was very good in this small restaurant. The food was very good. The portions were too large but were enjoyed. They offered to box the remainders but we were at a nearby hotel . Half portions might be an option.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bang for your buck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Doubletree in Cambridge and when planning our stay, we utilized Tripadvisor to seek out restaurants. We read about the East Side Bar & Grill and decided to give it a try. You do need a vehicle or taxi to get to the restaurant from the hotel.
We sat at the bar when we first arrived. Nice atmosphere. We were there to enjoy cocktails and watch the Patriots. My husband ordered the mussles. He LOVED them. They were very tender. The mussels were offered three ways and he chose the garlic cream. I think we had three beers while waiting for our dinner partners. Family members were joining us, so once they arrived we switched to a table. The menu offers many choices and the prices were incredibly reasonable. At the table an order of fried mozarella sticks was requested.Two of us had the steak tips, one had the pork chop entree and one had the seafood platter. Everyone gave a thumbs up to their meals. Two sodas and two more beers were added to our bill and the total was about $140. This included our drinks and appetizer from the bar. We thought it was a great deal, especially for the Boston area. Great recommendation from other tripadvisor reviewers. Thank you! Give East Side Bar & Grill a try. You won't be disappointed!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Popular Neighborhood Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This well loved, popular neighborhood restaurant serves large portions of thoughtfully prepared food in a casual atmosphere with excellent service. No reservations, but arriving at 6 PM on a Friday night there was no wait. All tables were taken by 7 PM. The widely acclaimed Margherita pizza was very good, although not quite artisan level (the crust had good flavor but was too chewy, while the topping had too much cheese and not enough basil to be first rate in my view), and the smallest size serves 3 to 4 people, as accurately explained to us by the waiter. This meant without over stuffing ourselves we couldn't try anything else except a salad or a soup, both good, no room for dessert, and took home leftovers too. Very good value and efficient. Wines by the glass include some very nice selections - there was no problem trying tastes of two first to choose our preference.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Tx
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place was close to our hotel, but we weren't expecting it to be soooo yummy!! The clan chowder is amazing! Nice, clean, very quaint atmosphere and wonderful waiters. The chicken Marsala was scrumptious as well!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Side Bar & Grill also viewed

Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to East Side Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Side Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.