We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, wonderful, efficient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flour Bakery

Flour Bakery
190 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA
617-225-2525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 554 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Cheap, wonderful, efficient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Lots of sandwich choices with so many different fillings. Ball sandwiches can be made as a salad. This is a stand in line, bus you own plate type of deal All foods are listed if they are nut free, gluten free or vegan or whatever. For those who have picky eaters there is a kids group of choices. Yummmm

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stopped by to grab a sandwich and on a whim decided to grab a dessert as well. I ended up ordering a roast chicken, avocado, and jicama sandwich. Sounded simple in the description, possibly even bland, but I was craving avocado. So glad I ordered it because it was out of this world! Also grabbed a bittersweet chocolate brownie. Looked almost like a dense, flourless chocolate cake but it was so soft and fudgey. I was so full from my sandwich I left most of the brownie for the next day and it was still as good as the day before, despite just being wrapped up in the paper bag it came in (I was worried it might get stale). Definitely a great stop for lunch, and the employees are fabulous as well!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Salads, sandwiches, soups, bakery items, coffee -- all great. What's not to love? OK, sometimes it can get a little crowded but the tables turn over quickly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A delicious snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stopped in Flour Bakery on a whim over the weekend for an afternoon snack. My friend and I had iced coffee (great), their special raspberry seltzer (a bit too sweet), and a sticky bun. I'm picky about sticky buns (they're my favorite pastry), and I was impressed. The sticky bun was out of this world- amazing, light, fluffy dough, and perfect pecan topping. Really delicious. I want to go back for sandwiches!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

In a lifetime of eating cinnamon buns, this was the best that I have every had. This was the best bakery of our trip. Our group tried all the major bakeries(Mike's, Modern, Bova, Maria's and Flour). This was hands down the best! We tried a variety of pastries and shared with our group. Everything that we had was spectacular. The cinnamon buns, sugar brioche and muffin top were particularly good. I now have to spend a week excercising!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flour Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Flour Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flour Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.