We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific stay, perfect location for Boston sights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Charles Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
western mass.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrific stay, perfect location for Boston sights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

The Charles Hotel made sure my friend and I had a terrific stay. Easy access to the airport, terrific restaurants and bars right in the hotel so we didn't have to go out on a snowy night, great location for seeing the city and exploring Harvard Square. Beautiful, spotless room overlooking Cambridge, with views of the Charles River and Boston beyond. We loved everything about our stay, particularly the comfortable suite, the attentive and friendly bartender at Noir, and the delicious bar menu at the beautiful Rialto in the hotel. Overall a wonderful weekend visit and can't wait to do it again. Highly recommend. Discovered a GREAT deal on the hotel's own website when you book 21 days in advance, hint, hint.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Hi Southrd,

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your snowy visit to The Charles! It is a great place to get snowed in. Thank you for sharing your kind words about Rialto and Noir. We'll be sure to pass your comments along to the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Harvard Square! Keep an eye out for our Snow Rates in addition to the specials you found on our website.

Thank you again,
~Elizabeth Stefan
E-Marketing Manager
estefan@charleshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    190
    62
    33
    23
See reviews for
152
99
55
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The Hotel is in a great location, right next to Harvard Square. Everything you might need is nearby, even healthy food which is usually impossible to find in the U.S. The room was spacious, modern, clean and even had a cute TV embedded in the bathroom mirror, making it easy to watch the adverts and infomercials everywhere! Staff were friendly and helpful.
An inadvertent overcharge which appeared on the account was quickly reversed on checkout.
Highly recommended... an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, NY
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

My husband and I spent 2 nights here right before Christmas. The staff was attentive and friendly. Henritetta's Table was delightful for both lunch and breakfast. The location makes walking Harvard Square easy. The collection of American quilts is beautiful. Our room was comfortable and quiet. It is a pet friendly hotel and we did notice some barking from a room on our floor.
It was a nice respite from the holiday chaos.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear liketotravel010,

Thank you for sharing your Charles Hotel experience on Tripadvisor. We're so glad that you were able to enjoy a relaxing stay with us before the busy holiday season.

It sounds like you were able to experience many of our amenities including Henrietta's Table and the hotel art collection. If you're interested in learning more about the quilts, please send me your email address and I'll forward you a pdf that details their history.

I'll be sure to share your compliments with Chef Peter Davis and the rest of the staff at Henrietta's Table.

Have a Happy New Year! We look forward to seeing you again in 2011.
~Elizabeth Stefan
E-Marketing Manager
estefan@charleshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radwell
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I spent a week at the Charles Hotel in October. Overall I enjoyed the stay and the guest rooms, meeting rooms and service were very good.

The hotel is located on the edge of Harvard Square and close to the river. Good location if you plan to visit Cambridge.

The free hotel wifi was very slow at times - An issue if you are planning to spend a lot of time working from your room. I also missed not having coffee making facilities in my room.

The ground floor bar got very busy in the evenings. Great fun but the service was slow due to the number of people. I would return to the Charles Hotel if given the option in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear NearRadwell,

Thank you for sharing your Charles Hotel experience on Tripadvisor! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us in October. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all of the amenities that come with our central location in Harvard Square. October is an especially fun time to visit Cambridge and Boston.

Please allow us to apologize for the sluggish wifi access and slow service at Noir. We'll be sure to take a look at staffing for the bar as well as what we can do to improve internet service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles in the not-so-distant future.

Thanks again,
~Elizabeth Stefan
E-Marketing Manager
estefan@charleshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I spent the weekend at the Charles a few weeks ago with my mum. From the moment we arrived the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was absolutely beautiful! Reminded me of a quaint New England home. The television in the bathroom mirror made the room quite impressive.
Before heading out for dinner that night we stopped into Noir Bar for a cocktail and a small bite. We had one of their delicious flat breads with peach, goat cheese and prosciuto which was delicious and just the perfect size. Great cocktail selection as well. I love the vintage decor theme of the bar - very Mad Men-esque!
The late checkout at noon was great so we could hang around in their comfy robes and order some coffee and muffins. Brunch at Henrietta's Table was excellent.
The Charles Hotel made for a fantastic weekend with my mum and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear LizCon21,

Thank you for sharing your Charles Hotel experience! We're so happy to hear that both you and your Mom enjoyed your stay with us! It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of our amenities including, Henrietta's Table and Noir.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles in the not so distant future!

Thanks again,
~ Elizabeth Stefan
E-Marketing Manager
estefan@charleshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Staying in this hotel was a good reminder to me that things that might be minor annoyances in a moderately priced hotel can seem extremely irritating at an expensive hotel.

I stayed at the Charles while visiting Tufts University and other colleges in the Cambridge area with my daughter. The hotel is expensive but the location was perfect, so I decided to splurge. The Charles offers a (very small) discount to Tufts visitors, so I submitted a request for a double room through Tufts’ website. I received an email back from the Charles stating that they did have a room available at the discounted rate, so I confirmed by email that I wanted to reserve.

When I arrived at the hotel, I was given a room with a single king bed rather than the double room I had requested. I called down to the front desk, thinking there had been a mistake, only to be told that no double rooms were available, the hotel had very few double rooms and all had been booked long ago “because of the squash tournament,” and that my reservation was for a king room. So, apparently, even though I requested a double room, I was booked for a king with no disclosure of this fact. Not cool. I love my daughter dearly, but she is a restless sleeper, and for $309 a night, I really wanted my own bed! I asked for a rollaway bed but, no, this too was impossible because of the squash tournament. It was clear from the employee’s condescending tone that he thought I should have known about the squash tournament and how it would affect my stay. He kept asking if I wanted “extra bedding” but I don’t know what use extra bedding would be without a bed to put it on. Maybe the idea was that I should make a little nest of bedding for my kid?

Anyway, when I returned to the room that night, I was happy to find that a rollaway bed had actually arrived. So then all was well. The room was lovely, the location was great because we were able to leave our car in the hotel garage and walk all around the heart of Cambridge, and my teen was enthralled by the mirror-TV. I appreciated the free wifi. Every employee I spoke with was very pleasant, other than the guy who thought I was an idiot for not knowing that I couldn’t have a double room because of a squash tournament. I would have liked a coffee maker in the room. Coffee was set up in the lobby but the pot was empty. No big deal, I went out to Peets and got a good cup of coffee. But still, a minor annoyance that seems more irritating when you’re paying $309 plus tax.

Overall, this was a very nice hotel but I thought they were a bit shady about the reservation, and I was definitely put off by the condescending tone of that one employee. Really, a simple “sorry for the mix-up, and we’ll try to get you a rollaway bed” would have been more appropriate. I would probably stay here again, but not if it was a situation where it was important to me to have a particular room configuration.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east northport
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Came to visit my daughter who is a student @ Harvard. Had a lovely time. The Hotel may be a little $$$ but I feel that it is worth it. The location and the fact that the appreciate eco-friendly patrons is what I find most appealing. The parking garage is under the Hotel.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear Annette1015,

We're so happy to hear that you were able to stay with us during a recent stay to visit your daughter! Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I invite you to visit our website before your next visit to Cambridge, as we offer several seasonal promotions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles!
Please don't hesitate to contact me if you need any additional information.

Thanks!
~Elizabeth Stefan
E-Marketing Manager
estefan@charleshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts.Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, ice-skating rink (winter months only), state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square.The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Rialto, recognized by one of the best restaurants in America by Gourmet, Food & Wine and Esquire. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily.Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.