We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel's exterior and spa cleanliness/ambience has deteriorated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Charles Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Cambridge, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This hotel's exterior and spa cleanliness/ambience has deteriorated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I love the Charles Hotel. The location, restaurants, people, services are great. BUT, there are now bums sleeping on the benches outside the hotel, the staff does not clean up garbage that is left on the walkways to the river side of the hotel, the spa has not been painted or renovated in years (despite great services and people) - in short, the management/ownership seems not to care anymore about its infrastructure and exterior cleanliness. I still recommend it, but they need to get their act together. Surely they can call the State or Cambridge police to keep the bums from sleeping in the park; get their staff to patrol and remove the garbage; take some pride in their environment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
Thank you for sharing your Charles Hotel experience on Tripadvisor. We’re thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel on more than one occasion. We do appreciate your loyalty.

We’re sorry to hear that you were not pleased the state of the spa and the nearby J.F.Kennedy Park.
The hotel’s management staff works closely with Cambridge officials to ensure that both the park and the walkways are kept safe and presentable. It is a beautiful area and a valuable asset to the hotel and the city of Cambridge. However, both areas are public spaces, so we can’t deter people from accessing or using the park.

We also appreciate your feedback regarding the adjacent spa. We will be sure to pass your comments along to their management, as we work very closely with them to maintain our high standards. At this time, we are actually in the process of discussing plans for a spa expansion and renovation in 2011! It’s an exciting project and we’ll be sure to share any new developments.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles!

Elizabeth Stefan
E-Marketing Manager
estefan@charleshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    188
    62
    33
    23
See reviews for
150
99
55
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Casual elegance...one way in which the Charles Hotel has been described. That certainly is an accurate description. I recently stayed there for five days while on a trip to visit family. From the art on the walls and the New England decor to the REAL ivy plants adorning tables throughout the corridors, I was very pleased with my first impression of the overall environment. Add to that excellent and professional service, super cleanliness and the BEST location, and you have the makings for a terrific stay!

Reception clerks, concierge, housekeeping, valets....everyone was always courteous and accommodating. Very minor issues (eg. dead phone battery) were resolved with either a phone call or a visit within no more than five minutes! Questions and requests were graciously addressed.

Accommodations were very comfortable. Again, tastefully decorated and clean. Perks...flat screen TV, several phones, charging station, and "mirror TV" in the bathroom!! Also, web cubes were available for internet use.

As for dining, Henrietta's Table , one of the establishments located within the hotel has outstanding food and service. I had breakfast there every morning and we had dinner there one evening. Outside seating is available. The dinner menu offers an exceptional deal ( not sure if every night; we were there on a Monday) three courses and one side for $32. Wow!! The hotel does offer an extensive 24 hour room service menu as well. Also,Legal Seafood has an express restaurant in the courtyard which was ideal for a late afternoon snack.

There is so much available within walking distance of the hotel. Peet's Coffee in Winthrop Park was a favorite for a hibiscus tea cooler and a pastry as well as an iced coffee. Restaurants and shops are ample. Venturing further? Access to public transportation is close by.

Again, the location can't be beat.

Without a doubt I would return to the Charles Hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Excellent overall experience! We were specially very pleased with the staff at the breakfast restaurant - even though we just took only our 'free tea/coffee' and bought just a muffin or two, the staff was so friendly and attentive to our needs that we were blown away with their patience and presence of mind inspite of being so very busy! Kudos to them:-)!
You would love the TV in the Bathroom Mirror!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

I just returned from attending a business class at Harvard. This hotel is about 15 minutes and a $40 cab ride from Boston Logan. My encounters with the front desk staff were not very positive. I found them to be short and rude. However, the concierge staff was always very helpful and friendly. I was on the 3rd floor by near the work out facility. I was very concerned that this would be noisy. However, I was pleasantly surprised that it was very quite. The room was clean. The bed was cozy. The hotel is in a great location. There is a subway station within a 10 minute walk. You can catch the subway to Park Station at Boston Commons and either walk from here on the Freedom tour or change subway trains to head over to the Back Bay/Newbury Street. In Harvard Square, there are a ton of restaurant choices at all price levels. There is also some quaint shops to check out.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for its comfort and location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed at the Charles Hotel in Cambridge because of proximity. We knew it would be overpriced for the value, but we were very disappointed in the several things---our sink was broken twice and had to call maintenance and we repeatedly had to call down for another wash cloth and towel. After the third day and complaint to the manager we were rewarded with breakfast, which was very kind but even though the food was great, the kitchen service was inordinately slow.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Never look at me to see how I am and we will get along...

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

because it's one of the few hotels in the center of the square the staff knows the capacity will be full most days therefore they have no need to be nice to customers/clients. stay at harvard inn if you want good customer service. i have done both.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts.Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, ice-skating rink (winter months only), state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square.The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Rialto, recognized by one of the best restaurants in America by Gourmet, Food & Wine and Esquire. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily.Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.