We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, ideal scale, outstanding focus on customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charles Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Cambridge
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, ideal scale, outstanding focus on customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

If you want to make your trip to Boston or Cambridge enjoyable, whether it's business or personal, the Charles Hotel should be your first choice because it matches up so well with the community and local culture. Sophisticated and relaxed at the same time, dignified but fun, the Charles reflects the most attractive qualities of both Harvard and Boston. The location is as good as it could possibly be. It's small enough that you don't have to wait at the front desk or the elevator bank but large enough to have great bars and restaurants. The rooms are beautiful, the fitness facilities are awesome, the staff is attentive and helpful. I think it's just a great hotel. And my wife likes it too!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, E-Marketing Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2009
Hello,

We're so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your visit to Harvard Square and The Charles Hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate it.

Our centralized location in Harvard Square is perfect for the traveler looking to experience it all -- quiet strolls along the Charles River, world-class shopping on Newbury street, or soaking up academia in Harvard Square!

Thank you again. We hope that your travels will bring you back to Boston in the not-so-distant future.
~Elizabeth Stefan
estefan@charleshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    181
    58
    31
    22
See reviews for
149
95
52
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel many times for business and find it to be top notch. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, E-Marketing Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2009
Hello and thank you for your excellent review of The Charles Hotel. I'm so happy to hear that both the hotel and our staff have met and exceeded your expectations over the years.

I hope you were able to take advantage of our complimentary wi-fi access during your last business trip. It was a long process, but something we felt was necessary to offer our guests.

I hope that your business will bring you back to The Charles in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly before your next stay.

Thanks!
~Elizabeth - estefan@charleshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband stayed here on business a few years ago and liked it, so we stayed with our 2 kids (5 & 8) for a weekend. There was a problem with the reservation (mix up about arrival dates), but the front desk handled it smoothly. The hotel is elegant and understated. Our room was clean and well-appointed. The kids LOVED the TV in the bathroom mirror. We ate at Henrietta's (in the hotel) which was extremely child-friendly -- healthy, farm fresh food, albeit pricey. Also, lots of restaurants nearby. The hotel is located close to Harvard and the subway, so it was easy to get everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, E-Marketing Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2009
Hello! I'm thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed such a pleasant stay at The Charles.
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your reservation, but I'm pleased to hear that the front desk staff handled it so smoothly. They do a great job and it's always nice to hear such positive feedback.
Henrietta's Table is a great spot for kids! Last year we hosted weekly kid's cooking classes during the winter months. Hopefully, we'll be able to do it again this year.
Once again, thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Charles in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if your plans bring you back to Boston.

Thank you,
~Elizabeth - estefan@charleshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

This hotel is lovely to look at with staff that is unpretentious but professional. . The room was good sized and immaculate. The staff was extremely accommodating and gracious. Not one person gave us that dull stare or go-away posture or pretentiousness. They were just polite and helpful. The restaurants (we ate at both) were excellent. Wired. Location is right in Harvard Square with easy access to everything.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, E-Marketing Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2009
Hello and thank you for your glowing review of The Charles Hotel! We're so happy to hear that not only did you enjoy your experience, but that the staff and accommodations exceeded your expectations.

We're also happy to hear that you enjoyed our new and complimentary wi-fi access! It was a long project, but one that was very important to us. As our guest, you can now enjoy complimentary internet and local/domestic long distance phone calls.

I hope that we'll be able to welcome you back to The Charles in the not-so-distant future. Please feel free to contact me directly next time you're in town.

Thank you!
~Elizabeth - estefan@charleshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleurr
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

So we have stayed at the Charles a few times...the other option of the Harvard Square Hotel isn't much better than a motel!
The rooms are quite nice and spacious,comfy beds and one of those cool tv in the bathroom mirror thingys. it's def on the expensive side for what it is though but you pay for loaction.
The food is probably my fave thing about the Charles. Legal Seafoods downstairs, Henrietta's Table eggs benedict and Charles (possibly our fave cheeseburger in the world) right across the road...can't be beat!
The proximity to Harvard Square and the T is great too.....we will def be staying again next time we are in Cambridge.It's a good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, E-Marketing Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Hello Fluerr,

Thank you for your great review of The Charles Hotel! I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed visit to the hotel and Harvard Square.
We're happy you got to enjoy all the great food in the Square. You're right about the eggs benedict at Henrietta's Table -- they're amazing!

We hope to welcome you back in the not-so-distant future. Please feel free to contact me directly at estefan@charleshotel.com the next time you're visiting the area.
~Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Front desk was great - easy check-in, etc. When I requested a late check-out on the day of, they were very accomodating and said it was no problem. Clean and elegant, the hotel is a great choice if you're visiting Cambridge. There was nothing extremely special about the hotel, it was nice and everything I expected/paid for.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, E-Marketing Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2009
Thank you for your glowing review! It is always a pleasure to hear that a guest enjoyed their stay at The Charles. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate your late check-out and meet all of your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

I just got back from the Charles Hotel yesterday and we had a wonderful time, the staff is friendly and very helpful. The hotel is gorgeous, rooms are comfy, love the touch with the quilts on the beds. Centrally located and really lovely, but the parking is a bit pricey although convenient, under the hotel. I would definitely go back to the Charles whenever I'm in Boston!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, E-Marketing Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2009
Hi Jo4Craft,

Thank you for your excellent review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Charles and your trip to Boston. It is always so nice to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles in the near future. I encourage you to contact me directly before you next stay at estefan@charleshotel.com

Thank you,
~Elizabeth Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts.Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, ice-skating rink (winter months only), state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square.The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Rialto, recognized by one of the best restaurants in America by Gourmet, Food & Wine and Esquire. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily.Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.