We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks pretty, but not comfortable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Charles Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Simsbury, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Looks pretty, but not comfortable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel looks very elegant, but it's the annoying things that ruin your stay. While waiting for our room to be ready, we tried to sit in the lobby, but the very pretty couches are set too far apart for conversation. So we finally went outside and took seats on the patio, in spite of the wind. This the only hotel I have stayed in in the past 20 years that doesn't have an in-room coffee maker. No late night or early morning coffee while you're getting ready. The TV is at a 90 degree angel to the bed, so no watching TV in bed. The room was set up so one side of the bed is blocked by the furniture, leaving one of us with the choice to crawl across the bed each time, or move the furniture to clear a path (we chose to move the furniture). The TV is at a 90 degree angle to the bed, and there is only one comfortable chair in the room, so no watching TV in bed, and only one at a time. The temperature controls didn't seem to be working so we called the desk and were told they in room controls don't work anymore - it's all preset. Which left the room uncomfortably warm for sleeping. There is a very pretty ice bucket in the bathroom with a card that says to call if you want ice. Ice is handed to you at your door in a plastic bag - that leaks! Why don't they just keep the ice bucket with the ice, then present you with a full bucket when you call, well, that would make sense to me, and prevent the carpet getting wet from the bag leaking. And last, but not least - the drain in the bathtub was broken and the tub didn't drain. When I called for maintenance, I was told "just to pry up the drain and leave it out if I'm not using it - very classy. Brunch at Henrietta's Table is fantastic, even if you don't stay here.
If you are looking for a place that looks good (and is VERY close to Harvard) this place may suit you, but if you are looking for a COMFORTABLE room, I would not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexattia, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations and apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused. Please know that guest satisfaction is our top priority here at The Charles and we are constantly working on improving.

If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Charles in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    193
    62
    34
    23
See reviews for
155
103
56
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed at the Charles Hotel while at Harvard University for a conference. The hotel is perfect. No fault at all. Quiet and very spacious rooms (had one with double beds). Excellent room service. Excellent restaurants within the hotel and nearby. The free wifi was decent and worked in the rooms and lobby. The in-room safe worked well and the minibar was convenient. The location is ideal - near plenty of shopping and restaurants and cafes. A short stroll to the Harvard University buildings and main campus. Will definitely stay here again if needing accommodation at Harvard University.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexattia, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. I would be happy to share your kind words with the team. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Charles in the future.

If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

As usual I booked my flights to Boston long in advance using hipmunk.com and then later I get around to the hotel, again on hipmunk.com (awesome website for flights and hotels - my best advice to my fellow travelers). Stayed 12 nights on business trip at Harvard. The Charles Hotel is the best in the area; a bit pricey, but this is Cambridge after all. I wanted a quiet room so I got a room facing the inner courtyard and it is definitely quiet. Free delicious coffee on the second floor to open and close my day. Great workout room. Also walked along the Charles river as an alternate for exercise. Some friends stayed at other hotels, but they loved my room and ambiance of my hotel when they visited me. Did not use the hotel restaurant since always ate out for every meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexattia, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you get the chance to dine with us during your next stay.

If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles and giving you the experience you expect and deserve from us.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great location just off Harvard Square near convenient dining, retail, public transport including the T, and most of Harvard. Hotel is dated, but prices are not! Rooms are adequate, staff are pleasant, restaurant served very good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexattia, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay along with everything Harvard Square and the surrounding area has to offer.

If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles and giving you the experience you expect and deserve from us.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I worked at the original, Le Pli Spa in the Charles, 20 some years ago. But I've never actually stayed in the hotel itself and had never seen the rooms. The location is mint. It's in Harvard Sq but just on the edge with easy access to make a get away without driving around the loop of the Square. And it's great access to public transportation, and just plain hoofin it. The hotel has exceptional restaurants, a full spa & fitness center, bars, I think it's a jazz bar still I didn't go in this time but it's got it all. There's also an Avis rent-a-car onsite which is extremely convenient. The rooms are large, and you pretty much can't get a bad view with it's ideal location. The bed is very comfortable, I have a lot of orthopedic injuries so this is something that is key for me. I slept better than I sleep in my own bed at the Charles. It's got an upscale feel to it but it's not outrageously priced for all the amenities in the hotel itself and the room which is definitely worth it. The staff are great, very friendly and go the extra mile. It instantly became one of my favorite hotels and I will absolutely keep coming back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexattia, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. Your kind words will not go unnoticed. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay along with everything Harvard Square and the surrounding area has to offer. It's wonderful that after all these years you finally got to spend the night at The Charles.

If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles and giving you the experience you expect and deserve from us.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osterville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our stay at the Charles Hotel was perfection! We were welcomed cordially and lea
d to a comfortable and thoughtfully appointed room. The hotel sparkles! Our dinner and breakfast at Henrietta's Kitchen were both freshly prepared and well served. We had such fun listening and dancing to the music of Lookie Lookie at the Ragatta Bar. It was a refreshing treat for us and our friends all around!! Will go again for sure!

Room Tip: We were offered both a courtyard or a "City " view. Chose the city as we like to see what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexattia, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words regarding your recent visit to The Charles. I am happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay including your time spent dining with us at Henrietta's Table and the show at The Regattabar.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I'm very ambivalent on this hotel. On the one hand, it's right in the middle of Harvard Square and is beautifully decorated with a real sense of place. On the other hand, the service is really difficult. At check-in, we had asked for adjoining rooms. We understood these were not guaranteed, but the clerk appeared to be completely indifferent and announced with great satisfaction that she had found us two rooms on the same floor. The hotel only has six floors with guest rooms so that did not seem like much of an accomplishment, our rooms were far apart on the floor.

Later on, I called to say that the room my husband and I were staying in had an enormous sag in the bed on the right side. The staff member sounded confused by this and had to call back twice before she was able to tell me they would change the mattress once I went out for the day. Then, when I returned in the evening, the mattress had not been changed! I ended the trip with a backache and a poor memory of the Charles.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexattia, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations.Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention. We hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you during future stays.

If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Charles in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts.Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, ice-skating rink (winter months only), state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square.The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Rialto, recognized by one of the best restaurants in America by Gourmet, Food & Wine and Esquire. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily.Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.