We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charles Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Cambridge
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Service was great and rooms were nice. Plenty of amenities. Owe could walk anywhere in Cambridge and Harvard square very easily. They even have Farmers market on weekends which is a nice perk. Would stay again. Keep in mind, this is a nice hotel in Cambridge so not cheap.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexattia, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay along with everything Harvard Square has to offer. The Charles Square Farmers Market is one of the highlights of our summer, I am glad you got to enjoy this perk.

If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles and giving you the experience you expect and deserve from us.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    179
    58
    30
    22
See reviews for
149
95
52
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was here for a conference. I don't know how expensive it was (probably pretty pricey), but my employer was paying, so why not stay where the conference was hosted. The room was clean and comfortable, The in-room WiFi seemed a little slow, but I wasn't trying to stream Netflix or anything, so no biggie. They had a notice that they wouldn't change the towels unless you asked, but even though I folded my towels to keep them usable, they kept replacing them. The bed was particularly comfortable--I slept very well.

The story I'd like to tell is related to the conference hosting. I requested a kosher meal. When I got to the conference, they told me they had my request and to notify the server at lunch. I did this, but they screwed up and had given my meal to someone else. I get it, people make mistakes. I was ready to be upset because I felt a little bit like the hostess was blaming me, but that was probably more due to missing lunch than any real offense.

When I got to my room that evening, I found a bottle of wine, a plate of fruit, a plate of sweets and a letter of apology saying they would make sure the mistake was not repeated. Again, people make mistakes, but they went the extra mile to compensate for their error without me making a fuss because they have a focus on service. And I got my kosher meal the next two days.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexattia, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. I am sorry to hear your needs were not initially met, however, I am happy that this issue was quickly resolved. Our staff is dedicated to providing our guests with exceptional service and we are pleased to hear that their efforts were so generously acknowledged.

If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles and giving you the experience you expect and deserve from us.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Every time I came to Boston, I stayed at the Charles and was never disappointed. The location is ideal to commute through Boston from Newton to Downtown. The rooms with the full length windows are the best and were my dog 's enjoyment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexattia, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding your families recent visit to The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay from your guestroom amenities to our convenient location.

If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles and giving you the experience you expect and deserve from us.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed at the Charles this past week (June 19th) for an ed. conference at Harvard Law School and really couldn't have asked for a better location. Location was great in terms of being close to our conference, but also really enjoyed hanging around Harvard Square and being close to the T stop. The Charles itself was a very nice stay - staff was friendly and very helpful, rooms were nicely done and comfortable - I really enjoyed the TV within the bathroom mirror! The only reason I didn't grade at 5 stars was the lack of a walk in shower (regular tub shower was used), and the slow (and therefore very obnoxious) elevators. Other than that, I had a fabulous stay and would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room facing the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexattia, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. Our staff is dedicated to providing our guests with exceptional service and we are pleased to hear that their efforts were so generously acknowledged. I also appreciate your feedback and will take this into consideration.

If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles and giving you the experience you expect and deserve from us.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rougemont
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

A well situated hotel in the Cambridge area, with good size rooms and nice amenities. Shower was a bit small, but loved the mirror TV, although the channels were different from the room TV. No refrig/microwave for use in the room and ice had to be ordered through room service. Gym was exceptional with tons of equipment and coffee was available here. Would def stay again. Negative: numerous homeless/panhandlers in the nearby area, and Cambridge in general was not a clean area. Local restaurants (Toscano/Doplin/Russel House/Cambridge 1) were very good

Room Tip: stayed on third floor facing courtyard and it seemed a good location-Visit The Cellar Bar, very neat
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for providing such a detailed review regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit, your kind words will not go unnoticed. I also appreciate your suggestions for improvement and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve.

If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles and giving you the experience you expect and deserve from us.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basking ridge, nj
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here while visiting colleges with my daughter. The location is very close to many schools . The service is excellent from the front desk to room service. We had some issue with the TV and the guy was up in minutes to sort it out. My daughter was also hugely impressed with the TV in the bathroom mirror. Very unique feature. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was very spacious, with two beds and a dinette sized table. My only complaint was that the construction across the street started super early and at 6:15 am it sounded like someone was vacuuming under my bed.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street which was fine except for current construction. Ask for a quiet roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and convenient location. I also appreciate your suggestions for improvement and will take this into consideration with the rest of the team.

If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Charles in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Ok let's be honest it's still the only luxury hotel on this side of the Charles river but this monopoly doesn't stop them from still trying hard and giving guests a terrific experience. Try getting exec suite facing the square ( 842 was big/ bright )- far bigger than regular room. Complimentary coffee/ tea all day long at hotel restaurant is a nice touch. Chocolates at turn down another ... A real haven in the middle of all the hustle and bustle... Terrific stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. Our staff is dedicated to providing our guests with exceptional service and we are pleased to hear that their efforts were so generously acknowledged.

If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles and giving you the experience you expect and deserve from us.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts.Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, ice-skating rink (winter months only), state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square.The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Rialto, recognized by one of the best restaurants in America by Gourmet, Food & Wine and Esquire. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily.Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.