We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good stay, but too pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Charles Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Augusta, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overall good stay, but too pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at many places in Cambridge and this was by far the most expensive. Great staff and a greater location. They have free internet and a very well equipped gym and restaurants are awesome. Also internet is at no charge which was surprising for how much a room cost here. Good experience overall.

Room Tip: If you can get better rates by booking early, don't hesitate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Charles Hotel. I appreciate your kind words regarding the Wellbridge Athletic Club, your time spent dining with us, our staff and location. If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    203
    64
    35
    23
See reviews for
163
111
57
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I wasn't going to write a review because there are already so many good ones but here goes . . . I could sum it all up with the title (but I won't). Comfy bed with luxurious linens, quirky but classy room decor (love the wall clock with exposed gears!), nice bath products, a tv in the bathroom mirror, very quiet, convenient location, tasty and reasonably priced room service. Since there was nothing going on at Harvard when we were there the price was relatively inexpensive. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would've appreciated an in-room coffee maker but it seems that is against the fire codes in Cambridge. We had breakfast at Henrietta's Table on the last day of our stay and it was lovely. The room is open and sunny and the food was great. We parked in the attached garage, which is not operated by the hotel but I'll mention it anyway. It was immaculate, the cleanest parking garage I have ever seen. It was pricey, though, about $35 a day. I guess that's pretty standard in the area but it still stings. Ultimately, I don't have a bad thing to say about the Charles Hotel!

Room Tip: Ordering room service for breakfast on a Sunday can be cheaper than the prix fixe Sunday brunch at H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at The Charles! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay including, but not limited to, your guestroom, the surrounding area and your time spent dining at Henrietta's Table. If I can assist you further, please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food in all restaurants and well equipped gym. Responsive professional staff. Rooms are fine but Bathroom was tiny and slightly inconvenient for a 3 day stay. Rates are no bargain - especially with all the local taxes. Can't beat location if you have business at Harvard.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the Wellbridge Athletic Club as well as our restaurants during your stay. I also appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team. However, I am sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with your guestroom. Please know that guest satisfaction is our top priority here at The Charles and we are constantly working on improving. If I can assist you further, please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location can't be beat - a short walk to much of the Harvard University campus, even the Business School across the river is only 15 minutes away.

The rooms are reasonably spacious and comfortably furnished with nice bedding and a good chair with an ottoman for relaxing. The floor plan has a small entry, so there is no view straight into the room when the door is open and hall noises are blocked from the sleeping area - nice touch! The bathroom is a little small, but has everything you need including a lighted magnifying mirror and a TV behind the wall mirror that becomes visible in the mirror when you turn it on.

I had one meal in the main hotel restaurant and noticed that many items featured locally sourced ingredients.

The price includes free wifi everywhere in the hotel I tried.

My only complaint was the view - I had a very uninspiring view of a dreary courtyard. Perhaps if I'd paid more I could have gotten a river or even a city view, but I wasn't offered a choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at The Charles Hotel! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your guestroom as well as your time spent dining with us. Please accept my apologies for the view from your guestroom. Upon your next arrival you are more than welcome to request the specific view you would like. If I can assist you further, please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles in the future!

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay in downtown Cambridge; convenient to transportation, attractive decor, fine fitness center. The restaurants surrounding the hotel are excellent as well. I would stay again, with pleasure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and were able to take advantage of everything Harvard Square has to offer. Please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com if there is anything further I can assist you with. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights and overall the stay was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean with free Internet which is a plus for a nice hotel. The only complaint was the shower is weak and hard to control the temperature. Parking is expensive but what you expect in Boston. The location is very convenient to Harvard square. They have a nice fitness club which I did not use. No coffee in the room but complimentary coffee on the second floor, a bit of a hassle.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Charles Hotel. I am sorry to hear you were not happy with the water pressure, water temperature and parking rates. Please know that guest satisfaction is our top priority here at The Charles and we are constantly working on improving. Regarding in-room coffee, upon check in you may simply request a coffee maker for your room and if one is available it will be provided. However, I am happy to hear you took advantage of everything the surrounding area has to offer and that you enjoyed your stay and had postive interactions with our staff. If I can assist you further, please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I'll admit it. I am on a personal campaign to get hotels to STOP CHARGING FOR INTERNET ACCESS. This is mothers milk for business travelers (why not just charge for flushing toilets)! To their credit, the Charles Hotel doesn't charge for internet access, which is surprising for a top notch hotel.

I live in NYC now, but lived in the Boston area for 50 years. This is a great location to see the Boston area without getting mired in Boston traffic. Harvard Square has the feel of a college town with lots to see and do, great restaurants, beautiful Charles River walkways, lots of history, and you are minutes from downtown Boston via the Red Line "T".

The Charles Hotel is the best hotel in the Cambridge area. Clean, good sized rooms that are well appointed, and very New Englandy. Not stuffy. The staff was super friendly (unusual for Boston where service people often act like landed Russian royalty) and efficient. Obviously well trained.

Three beefs: 1) the water pressure in the shower was not so great and not very hot (I like my skin taken off), 2) parking garage rates are insane, and 3) there is no coffee maker in the room. You have to schlepp down to Henriettas restaurant to get a complimentary cup. Would it kill them to put a coffee maker in the room... especially with what they get for a rack rate? If those things aren't important to you this is a 5 star hotel.

The restaurants in the hotel are superb. Henrietta's Kitchen has a great brunch. Rialto is one of the top Italian restaurant in the city, and of course Legal Seafood is a great standby for consistently excellent seafood (the NE clam chowder is really good). Check out the burgers at Craigie on Main... they should be their own food group, although the double cheeseburger with fries special at Charlie's Kitchen across from the hotel are sinful if you like your burgers on the greasy side in a more downscale environment. :-). I entertained business associates from Paris a few years ago who said the Harvest restaurant a block away from the Charles Hotel has the best seafood they had ever had (oh how that killed them to say that).

I got a room here for $185 on Priceline. Otherwise get ready to pay through the nose.

Room Tip: Use Priceline to get a good rate. NE clam chowder at Legal Seafood is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Charles Hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences brought upon you due to the water pressure, water temperature, parking rates and lack of coffee maker in the guestrooms. Please know that guest satisfaction is our top priority and we are constantly working on improving. As for the coffee maker, upon check in simply ask for a coffee maker for your room and, if available, one will be provided. However, I appreciate your kind words praising our location, dining options and the interactions you had with our staff. If I can assist you further, please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts.Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, ice-skating rink (winter months only), state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square.The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Rialto, recognized by one of the best restaurants in America by Gourmet, Food & Wine and Esquire. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily.Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.