We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's best to be Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Charles Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Wayland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It's best to be Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Charles Hotel, just off Harvard Square, is a gem. The rooms are beautifully appointed -- there's even a tv built into the bathroom mirror! -- and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The two restaurants give you a range of choices, and out on the plaza (that the hotel overlooks), there's also a Legal Seafood. If you like jazz, the hotel is home to the Regatta Bar, a great venue. And of course you can spend hours walking around Harvard, visiting numerous shops, galleries and museums. We stayed there as a little romantic getaway after attending a play at the fabuous American Repertory Theater, just a few blocks away.

And of course, if you want to hop in your car or take the T, you can be at a number of other popular squares (Porter, Central, Kendall) in just a few minutes, not to mention MIT and, across the Charles River, Boston. Surprisingly inexpensive, given Boston room rates, but don't tell them I said so.

FYI: We didn't use the spa, so no rating, but we've heard it's great. There's under-the-hotel parking, which is very convenient, and even a "juice bar" if you are one of those enlightened folks who drive an electric car.

Room Tip: Request a room high up that overlooks the Harvard campus, the Charles, and the Boston skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at The Charles Hotel. I appreciate your kind words praising your guestroom, the Regattabar and our staff. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. I am glad you were able to take advantage of everything the surrounding area has to offer. Please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com if I can assist you in any way. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    191
    62
    33
    23
See reviews for
153
99
56
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

On a holiday trip this winter to Boston, my husband and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Charles. Service was exceptional, location was prime, and the accommodations were gorgeous. While we didn't use it during our stay, I loved the ice skating rink out front. There was a plethora of eateries within walking distance. Our view was awesome. The one thing I was remiss about was that Henrietta's was undergoing renovations during our visit and we didn't have the opportunity to dine there. My favorite aspect of this hotel was the room service. The food was delicious and fresh. Very prompt service!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Courtyard - facing Harvard Stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Charles. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and everything we, as well as the surrounding area, have to offer. I apologize for the inconvenience brought upon you due to the renovations which were occuring at Henrietta's Table during your stay but am very happy you enjoyed the room service you received. If I can assist you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel, and Henrietta's Table, in the future!

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If your trip to the Boston area is not about being ‘in’ Boston, The Charles is the place to stay. Especially if your focus is the Harvard area. And there is a lot to see in the area, such as the museums and theaters associated with Harvard.

The Charles is priced high, but it is worth it. Look for a deal associated with an area venue. The Charles does offer discounts for such things. We were discounted through a play at the Loeb Drama Center.

The only issues we had were with the bed being too soft and the quality of the room service food not being worth what they are charging. We’ve stayed in comparable hotels in other cities with the same room service prices, but much higher quality meals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Charles. I enjoyed your kind words and am happy you were able to enjoy everything the surrounding area has to offer. However, I am sorry to hear you found your bed uncomfortable and did not fully enjoy your room service meal. Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention and I will be addressing them with the appropriate team members. Please know that guest satisfaction is our top priority here at The Charles and we are constantly working on improving. If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had a beautiful room. Two big windows overlooking Harvard square, big TV, TV in bathroom mirror, lots of outlets, free wi-fi, nice linens. Location is great. Housekeeping did a nice job, Very respectful. Hotel food was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Charles. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your guest room as well as your time spent dining with us, our location and your interactions with our staff. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team. If I can assist you further, please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel itself is charming and comfortable. I recently stayed over for 2 nights in a
well-appointed room and had meals at the excellent Henrietta's Table. However during most of my stay there was no hot water in the bathroom sink and the heat was not working properly - no matter how I adjusted the thermostat it was extremely
cold in the mornings. These are important deficiencies in a hotel which is rather pricey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I apologize for the inconvenience brought upon you due to the lack of hot water and insufficient heat. Please know that guest satisfaction is our top priority here at The Charles and we are constantly working on improving. Thank you for informing me of this and it has been brought to the attention of our Director of Engineering. However, I am happy that you otherwise enjoyed your stay as well as your time spent dining at Henrietta's Table. If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Only having one night to spend at the Charles is like letting a child take only one "MM" out of the one pound bag! I was left wanting another! Very "over the top" service. I really felt like they were glad we came! Thank you for making the final surprise of the day (my Wife's 50th birthday) the best!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the interior courtyard, very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Charles Hotel experience with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as your wife's special birthday celebration! We are always honored to be able to contribute to a special occassion. If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

First time at the Charles and I hope I have the opportunity to return.

The rooms are wonderful. Quality furniture that's also comfortable. The bed was one of the best I've slept on in years! The accessories in the room were all top-flight, though the iron in the room was falling apart. (Maybe hotels stock rooms with cheap/flimsy/near broken irons to keep them from disappearing. A large golf umbrella was in the closet; what a VERY nice touch.

The food at Henrietta's was fresh, tasty and well-prepared.

I had none of the service problems that other reviewers experienced. All were warm, friendly and very helpful. My only complaint is that I wish I had been able to checkout later than 12.30p, but that's not the fault of the front-desk staff.

Easy walk to everything in Harvard Square. Will definitely stay again if I'm headed to this part of the Boston area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us at The Charles. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed not only your accommodations and time spent dining with us, but your interactions with our staff and location as well. If I can assist you further, please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel in the future!

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts.Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, ice-skating rink (winter months only), state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square.The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Rialto, recognized by one of the best restaurants in America by Gourmet, Food & Wine and Esquire. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily.Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.