We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel in the Heart of Cambridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Charles Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel in the Heart of Cambridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were attending a symposium at Harvard, and we were fortunate to secure a room at the Charles Hotel in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The Charles Hotel is conveniently located within a ten minute walking distance to the Harvard campus. Downtown Cambridge is a lively, friendly town with cafes, stores, and high quality street performers. Walking to and from the campus is delightful. The hotel itself is meticulously clean and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and loaded with amenities, such as free wi-fi, an amazing television in the bathroom mirror, and comfortable bed. Lots of outlets are available for the tech savvy individual. We parked our car at the hotel on Wednesday for $35 per night, and never saw it again until Sunday when we left. There are so many wonderful restaurants and activities within a very short distance that the car was unnecessary. The hotel has a number of dining options for meals as well as late night snacks, with four restaurants and outdoor dining. The hotel and adjoining restaurant staff were very welcoming and friendly. Room service is fast and reasonable. We are thinking of going back to Cambridge just to stay at the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding your time spent at the Charles. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your guestroom, the amenities received, your time dining with us, our staff and everything the surrounding area has to offer. I appreciate your kind words and look forward to sharing them with the team. Please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com if I can assist you in any way. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charles Hotel sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    190
    62
    33
    23
See reviews for
152
99
55
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The excellent parts: very nice area with lovely restaurants around, nice entrance, friendly people, fast elevators, cozy rooms, comfortable beds and extremely fast internet.
The alright parts: You had to continually log into internet on each device and were shut out after a few minutes of not using it. Hotel is not/not close to downtown Boston: at least two subway stops so not good for tourist stuff.
The bad: NO COFFEE MAKER! Yes, you could go to second floor and get coffee for free, but you still have to get dressed and go get it. That was extremely inconvenient. The restaurant might be a ten star but was very expensive for breakfast. Tip: there is an Ihop right across the street.
We were also disappointed that despite putting out a do not disturb sign we received a call from housekeeping at one in the afternoon asking when they could clean the room. Is that not the point of putting out a "do not disturb"?
I would recommend the hotel if you are going to be in that area of Boston but not if you are planning on being downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Charles. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your guestroom, your time interacting with our staff and the speed of the elevators and Wi-Fi. Regarding an in-room coffee maker, I will make a note in your guest profile requesting a coffee maker for your room during your future visits with us (based on availability). I am sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with your breakfast and for the inconvenience regarding the "Do Not Disturb" sign. Please know that guest satisfaction is our top priority here at the Charles and we are constantly working im improving. If I can assist you further, please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charles Hotel in the future!

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice hotel in a great location. We arrived pretty late, but the staff were welcoming. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious and comfortable. Parking underneath the hotel. Able to wlak most places in Cambridge from here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Charles Hotel. I appreciate your kind words about our staff and am happy you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com with any further comments or concerns you may have. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charles Hotel in the near future!

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

property was simply excellent. lots of little extras that made the stay worthwhile. i got a wonderful convention rate, but would have paid full price for all the extras. rooms exceptionally quiet. the free high speed wifi was extraordinary - so many high end hotels charge a daily arm and leg! i prefer bed and breakfasts when i travel, but this was a very nice alternative. happy to recommend the place and look forward to several return stays.

Room Tip: 9th floor is AWESOME
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Charles. I am happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and appreciate your kindness. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team. Please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com if I can assist you in any way. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charles Hotel in the near future!

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel was terrific. We had my sons wedding at the Charles. The room ws very comfortable and clean and the staff very accommodating The funtion room staff was excellent and attentive and the food was so good.
I would not hesitate to stay again or run a function there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at the Charles Hotel. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It will be my pleasure to share your kind words regarding our guestrooms, food and function halls with the team. Congratulations to your son and your family on the recent wedding! We are honored to have been a part of this special day. Please don't hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com if I can assist you in any way. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charles Hotel in the near future!

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great property. This hotel is well maintained and run. It's well designed for comfort in every way but one: bathroom lighting. It seems odd that they would have taken pains to have plenty of counter space in the bathroom; well placed furniture with drawers to store clothing; a comfortable bed, yet they have only "mood" lighting in the bathroom and dressing area. Higher watt bulbs and adding two ceiling lights over the sink could easily remedy this.

Another plus for this hotel is the restaurant called "Henrietta's Table.". The breakfast is exceptional; dinners quite good as well. They use fresh ingredients, and are willing to tinker with items to suit preferences or food allergies. They have a roof top garden supplying their produce.

The Boston public transportation system make the location a winner. You can forego a car, and get around the city easily.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the AC and other vents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Please accept my apology for the insufficient lighting in your guestroom. I truly appreciate your kind words regarding your time spent dining at Henrietta's Table and I am glad you benefited from the local public transportation. Please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com if I can help you in any way. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charles sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

In all respects an excellent high class hotel. The staff is courteous and helpful, the room was a larger suite room with a nice sized separate seating/working area. Rooms, especially the bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. The restaurant, Henrietta's Table is top notch. There is no outside breakfast joint around the area, but it is not needed. Breakfast at Henrietta's Table is as good as any. Definitely try the biscuits, very usually and very good.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a larger room, it is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you had positive interactions with our staff and enjoyed the space and cleanliness of your guestroom. I also am glad you enjoyed your time spent dining with us at Henrietta's Table. Please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com if I can be of any assistance to you. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charles sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts.Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, ice-skating rink (winter months only), state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square.The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Rialto, recognized by one of the best restaurants in America by Gourmet, Food & Wine and Esquire. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily.Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.