We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Break Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT to your Saves list
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Sidney St, Cambridge, MA 02139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great City Break Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

This hotel seems mainly for the business crowd. Having said that the rooms were well decorated and furnished. If you do not mind walking then the location is great as it is mid way between Harward and MIT, however the subway station is not that far either. Whilst breakfast is not included there are a number of cafes and restaurents in the vacinity of the motel. There is coffee making facility included in the rooms and there was good TV choice but BBC World Service was not available. Parking facility is next doors - bit expensive.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    238
    83
    21
    13
See reviews for
156
105
48
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed at the Le Meridien in Cambridge this past Labor day weekend. The weather that weekend in Boston was sunny and 75 degrees, so needless to say, we weren't in the room very often. However, the hotel provided a great place to crash after a long day walking on the Freedom trail and browsing around Quincy market. The beds are SO comfortable, getting out of bed is difficult. The location was great. We were about 3 blocks from the Central square T-stop, on the red line, which is super convenient. The hotel was clean, the staff is friendly, and the location was great. All this at a great value, what more can you ask for? We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Le Meridien Cambridge was an enjoyable experience. The rooms were comfortable, attractive, and super clean. Rooms were quiet- did not hear any hall noise although there were many others on our floor. The bathroom was clean, towels large and fluffy. (I do wish they had bathrobes as stated on the web site.)

Room service was overpriced, but decent food. I hated the snack tray that took up too much room on the desk. No prices were noted for it or the mini-bar.

Door service was not always available. I think he was overworked. We had an occasion to call for a few adjustments in the room (sink and safe), which were both handled promptly by a very courteous and efficient man from Jamaica.

Taxis were readily available. The walk to Central Square metro was through an area I would call borderline. Lots of panhandlers and drunks. The hotel location is okay-not great. If you are taking public transportation, be aware of this and consider a taxi at night.

Location is the biggest drawback for this hotel. Still, I will stay here again- other factors make up for this. Staff was all helpful and friendly and the rate was very reasonable. Oh - and free internet access!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I regretfully have to write this review. This hotel is a trendy upscale hotel in close proximity to a college. The decor is modern. The rooms are great!! The service is at best poor. Upon check-in the Valet/Bellman was unprepared and working alone. The front desk staff lacked the usual customer friendly enthusiasm. I called down for my vehicle to be brought up front to go to a concert 30 minutes in advance. I arrive downstairs and they tell me that they can not find my Lincoln Navigator. I am quietly furious but I wait patiently. When I returned I was told to just leave my keys with the front desk. This is not the type of service that I am used to for a hotel of this caliber. The rate was excellent. So for that I recommend this hotel but park your own car and don't expect 3, 4, or 5 star service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed for one night at the Meridien, Cambridge.

PROS-Location..surrounded by restaurants, pubs, college nightlife

Rooms are new, beautiful large hi-def tv.

Great view!

We got an incredible price

Easy to get to from Logan

CONS-Location...about 4 healthy blocks to the T. Not so fun in heels
P.S. Boston, you are a metropolis, WHY can't you run until 3am on Fridays and Saturdays? Ur clubs don't close until at least 2am ...do you REALLY want all those drunk people on the road?

PARKING-This is not to be trite, parking anywhere in Boston is WORSE than New York...even the municipal garages are gougy

The Lighting in the Bathroom is NOT good for a woman applying makeup. It was very dark. ADD A LIGHT TO THE MAKEUP MIRROR!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I chose this hotel for our trip to Boston for the fact that they have queen sized beds, not doubles, in the reasonably priced room, and that it has recently been renovated. We were not disappointed. The room is very comfortable and although there were 3 of us in the room (2 queen beds) for 4 nights, we did not feel cramped. The room is full of light and stylishly decorated, with a fabulously large flat screen TV that my son and husband really appreciated it. The desk chair was very comfortable to sit in and read. Our room looked out on a nice courtyard (great place for morning yoga) and view of the Boston skyline. We did not notice noise coming from other rooms. The bathroom was nicely proportioned with an excellent tub/shower with great water pressure and drainage. Only improvements in the bath would be 1) a clock/radio and 2) a reduced lighting choice. Cambridge itself is an easy T ride outside of Boston, with about a 5 minute walk to the T station from the hotel. There is a fabulous ice cream shop--Toscanini's--a block away from the hotel. Don't miss the Belgian chocolate and coconut! Also, we HIGHLY recommend doing the Boston Gliders Segway tour of Boston--great fun for teenagers and parents!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I arrived at about 2:40 pm and the front desk clerk said, "Guaranteed check-in time is 3 pm - we're still turning over rooms". I checked my luggage and went for a walk around the neighborhood; returned about an hour later. I waited at the front desk for several minutes while the clerk called housekeeping trying to locate a room that was ready. Finally received a key card and went up to my floor to discover a housekeeping cart blocking the door to my room - the maid was still finishing up. Eventually she let me in but still had to take care of little details like replacing something on the minibar. After she left and closed the door, a minute later she knocked and let herself in with her key to come in and punch a code on the phone (I assume indicating she was done with the room).

The room had nice contemporary decor; big flat screen TV, big bed with nice linens and big fluffy pillows. I loved the chaise lounge in the corner. The room did have a very slight smell of smoke even though the hotel is completely non-smoking.

The hotel has free internet but the signal in my room was weak (ranging from 2.0-5.5 mbps).

I liked the location (near Central Square and a subway stop) and there is a supermarket right next door to the htoel, which was convenient to pick up a few snacks.

I thought the breakfast buffet was quite good (wonderful fresh fruit including pineapple and beautiful blackberries) and a good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT

Address: 20 Sidney St, Cambridge, MA 02139
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#14 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Logan Airport and Boston's city centre, Le Meridien Cambridge-MIT offers visitors elegant guest rooms and suites situated in the heart of Central Square in Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Cambridge-Mit Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.