We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but check the bill carefully” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Sidney St, Cambridge, MA 02139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but check the bill carefully”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a good four-star hotel. My room was good. There was plenty of space and it was well furnished. The bed was very comfortable. The location is good if you need to go to the MIT area.

There were negatives though. The "honor bar" in my room ended up billing me for things I did not consume. They position it on the desk so you have to move it if you want to make a coffee/ work on the desk, yet they bill you if any of the items are moved in the slightest. I found this rather dishonest, particularly as their staff must have noticed that the items in question were still there, yet they still sent me a bill. I recommend checking your bill carefully (they did adjust). Also, the reception/ bar/ restaurant area were rather uninspiring, and the room could be noisy from the corridor and adjoining room.

Overall though, it is a decent hotel, and I would consider staying here again if I come back to the area. I just wish the management would get rid of the ridiculous billing system for the array of confectionery they are trying to sell you. You pay for the whole room, yet if you want to use the desk you'll struggle unless you want to get billed for items you do not consume.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    195
    69
    19
    12
See reviews for
131
92
41
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

From the reviews that I read, wasn't expecting much from this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised - the customer service was outstanding.

From check-in to check-out, they really tried to help. The desk staff went outside in freezing weather to hail us a cab, complaints out about the room or facility were handled immediately and with a minimum of fuss, and the breakfast staff make us breakfast even after they were closed.

Whatever they've done from a staffing perspective - keep it up!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Friendly staff, good ameneties and really great location. Near the T which makes getting into Boston a snao. Easy drive from Logan. Near good restaurants. Near Starbucks and near our kids. Comfy beds. Average room decor. Nice but pricey bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel was not bad but was not amazing either, fairly average. we paid over $400 for two nights (weekend) so i did expect a little better than what we got. We decided after I booked the hotel that we do a road trip to Boston instead of plane ( from toronto) and i had forgotten to check for parking and a big mistake! The parking next to the hotel was very expensive, considering its not even Downtown Boston. We drove to downtown/financial district Boston and found cheaper parking than that area! You didn't really need the car because the station was fairly close and we walked back to the hotel from Harvard as well which was a little bit of a walk but worth it because you get to enjoy the environment. It seems fairly safe in the area as well so that was a bonus. We had a free breakfast buffet included in our package and the staff at the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have enjoyed staying at this hotel on multiple trips to Cambridge. It is close to MIT but also a long walk to Harvard. The corner rooms which end in 50 are a nice size with windows on two sides. The rooms are furnished nicely with nicely sized bathroom. Staff is very nice.

Room Tip: Room that ends in 50
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here while I was attending an event at the Microsoft R&D Center. I really enjoyed my stay. It's a 5 minute walk from the red line and near a good selection of bars and restaurants. I didn't go to dinner at the restaurant in the hotel, but breakfast was great and has a nice selection of options. Rooms are spacious, modern, clean, and come with free internet access (and a water bottle for when you arrive). I thought the front desk and other staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, and housekeeping drops off a toothbrush and toothpaste when they clean your room. The only minor gripe I have is that the door handle to the closet pulled right off when I was opening it. Aside from that though I rate the hotel very highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Situated only blocks from MIT, and within walking distance of Harvard, plus close to the best ice cream in the Northeast, Toscanini, this very reasonably priced hotel was remarkably peaceful and attentive to every detail a traveler would want. The service was friendly and enthusiastic. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was offered with the affordable cost of the room, and offered everything from eggs, pancakes and a variety of fruits and breads to very gracious service and a relaxful atmosphere. There is no reason to stay anywhere else in this part of Boston/Cambridge. Good value and great service make this the place to be.

Room Tip: Be on a higher floor away from the street traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT

Also Known As:
Le Meridien Cambridge-Mit Hotel Cambridge
Le Meridien Cambridge-Mit Hotel
Le Meridien Cambridge
Cambridge Le Meridien
Address: 20 Sidney St, Cambridge, MA 02139
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Logan Airport and Boston's city centre, Le Meridien Cambridge-MIT offers visitors elegant guest rooms and suites situated in the heart of Central Square in Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Amex, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.