We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your credit card for extra charges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT to your Saves list
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Sidney St, Cambridge, MA 02139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Check your credit card for extra charges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I came here on business. The hotel is clean, the restaurant is great and the location is convenient. When I received my credit card statement there was an extra charge. When I contacted the hotel they said that was for parking my car. I had flown in to town and taken a taxi to the hotel. There was no car. They were unable to help me take this charge off outside of normal 9-5 M-F hours so now I need to call them again. A bit of a hastle. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I did not have extra mini bar charges but here I had extra parking imaginary car charges. Please check your credit card statement carefully and be prepared to spend time on the phone with Le Meridien and your credit card company. Otherwise enjoyed the stay but prefer hastle free business travel so will look elsewhere for my next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Guest Experience Team at Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear, Ticktockfrog,

On behalf of Le Meridien Cambridge I would like to apologize for our mistake regarding the parking charges. However, I am glad the situation was resolved. I hope you will reconsider our hotel for future stays. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you are planning your next trip to Boston!
<Guestexperience@lemeridiencambridge.com>
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    238
    83
    21
    13
See reviews for
156
105
48
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were able to get this for $160/night (with taxes) on hotwire.com rather than $327. It was no more special than the Motel 6 we stayed at the night before in Westborough, MA. (Well, except for the $28/night parking, the tray of $3-4 candybars in the room, the safe, and on the positive side- the location). At places like this you end up paying tips, too. I'm glad we got two room keys because you need one to make the elevator work. Dh went to park the car and was very glad he had his key with him so that he could get to the room. The down comforter was unique- light and fluffy, but we woke more fully when we got hot than with layered sheets and blankets which you can shrug off while half asleep. In Cambridge, you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have always enjoyed going to the Sydney's Restaurant in the the Le Meridien. The food and service is fantastic, especially at the breakfast buffet. Eggs, waffles, pancakes, and almost any thing that you want cook-to-order. Ahmed and his team will take good care of you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for 2nd time in 6 months. The location is really great if you want to visit Cambridge or Boston. Can walk to Harvard, MIT, Newbury/Boylston St.(hotel actually on MIT campus) walk about 20 min to Harvard, or straight over Mass Ave bridge can be to Boston University Campus in 20 min or Newbury/ Boylston St in 25-30 min. One big plus was tiny window that opened so didn't need AC and had fresh air. Beds were really comfortable. New addition if you don't need maid service have the green option of $5.00 credit in restaurant Sydneys onsite or 500SPG points. Highly recommend this hotel-staff were all very friendly, helpful and nice to deal with.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great location for business meeting. The large room off the lobby is great for casual meetings. We stayed for the weekend - great location to enjoy all of Cambridge and Boston. Our room was so nice. Love their green policy - they gave us free full breakfast for forgoing having our bed changed every day. Great trade-off to save the environment and eat for free!

Room Tip: See Paul C in Sidney Restaurant. He's so friendly and helpful. What a gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

You know the pertinent facts: good location, great looking lobby, excellent beds, free wi-fi. What I want to write about is the excellent staff. The first night at the hotel, we were awakened around 3am by a party across the hall. We called the front desk and they immediately sent someone up to attend to the problem. At 4:30, we were awakened again. This time there was heavy pounding and the strong voices of the Cambridge police who had been called because the revelers would not settle down.

What a drag for us and for the hotel staff, who have no way to know which guests are going to cause problems after they check-in. The next morning as my husband was on his way out of the hotel to give an important speech after a very difficult night, he stop and spoke to the manager on duty. What was her response? She apologized, she removed the room charge (and taxes) and she moved us to a suite.

Frankly, this is much more than we expected. The hotel manager turned unhappy guests into wonderfully happy guests who can't wait to recommend this hotel to everyone they know who is going to Cambridge, MA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Guest Experience Team at Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Le Meridien Cambridge would like to thank you for your wonderful review. I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. I'm glad our staff was able to work with you directly to resolve the issue. Thank you for your understanding. Le Meridien Cambridge is happy to hear you will be returning in the future!

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for future reservations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a relatively new and stylish hotel option for the MIT and many bio-pharma companies in the immediate area. The room was comfortable, excellent bedding and good amenities. The hotel has a modest fitness room, nothing special but it was ok for a few day stay. TV got HD channels and the room had one window that would open in case you wanted some fresh air.

Only suggestion is to avoid the front facing side of the property if you are noise averse, the traffic isnt too bad but there is a bus that frequently rumbles by and the fire house can be heard. There is a garden side that I switched to and was very content with the quiet and comfort of this hotel.

Room Tip: garden side is quieter than the road facing sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT

Address: 20 Sidney St, Cambridge, MA 02139
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#14 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Logan Airport and Boston's city centre, Le Meridien Cambridge-MIT offers visitors elegant guest rooms and suites situated in the heart of Central Square in Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Cambridge-Mit Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.