We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome (almost) vegan, (almost) raw food place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Life Alive

Life Alive
765 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02139-3303
617-354-5433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 553 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Awesome (almost) vegan, (almost) raw food place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The best healthy food place in town! Yummy dishes for very reasonable prices. Only downside: long lines during rush hours. But don't let that scare you! If you don't deal with crowds well, go between lunch and dinner; at that time place is usually empty. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    28
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's not the food, it's not the vibe, it's not the sheer kindness of the smile who's taking your order. It's ALL of it and then some: Life Alive is disarmingly authentic and disarmingly good - every time.

As a side note I must add that as much as I love rice, I thought I did not like brown rice. Wholefoods brown rice falls short in taste and texture, so many upscale restaurant brown rice dishes. Then I tried what Life Alive offers in its dishes and I realized: I DO like REAL authentic brown rice! That's how good this place is: they can take any ingredient and make it a delicious destination for your taste buds!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty, and apparently healthy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I am not a vegetarian, and usually keep away from vegetarian places - but this is an exception. It is tasty, unusual, and worth the wait in line. It is a good idea to call and order by phone, and then pick it up - the line can be long.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Healthy delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

On a recent visit to my daughter's college, she and her friends introduced me to one of their favorite restaurants, Life Alive, a vegan-vegetarian restaurant in Cambridge. Take the Central T stop and walk about five bloods north to the restaurant. You order at the counter and they serve you soon thereafter. I tried "the Goddess" bowl size ($8.95) which is a sumptious mound of kale, beets, broccoli and other vegetables on brown rice with a mild tasty dressing. All bowls come in mini-sizes (about $5.00). In addition to bowls, they have wraps and salads. You leave feeling very full and satisfied but virtuous because all ingredients are organic, healthy and non-fat.
Life Alive also offers a variety of smoothies, something to try on my next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“The way a vegetarian restaurant ought to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Passing through Boston as I very often do, I looked up restaurants in Cambridge and trusted the reviews... no disappointment there! Life Alive is exactly that, a way to eat that makes you feel alive in the company of many others who delight in a healthy meal. The food is fresh and the dressings really tasty, certainly well worth the short wait (even thought the line seemed sooo long) at the ordering counter. The Goddess Salad I ordered was served to me at a table in the lower level, warmly decorated with simple furnishings. I indulged in a Life Alive Juice that delivered the complex taste of each of its ingredients; an energizing treat,
I recommend this place to all, vegetarians or not. No one will be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Life Alive also viewed

Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Life Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Life Alive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.