We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if i lived near here, i would never cook again :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Life Alive

Life Alive
765 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02139-3303
617-354-5433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 552 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
herndon, va
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“if i lived near here, i would never cook again :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

so good... so healthy... so reasonably priced! really!
my fav is the explorer salad. i crave it so much, i tried to learn how to make it myself since i live in hawaii. i got close, but their version is better. props! ;)
went there about 3 times while visiting a friend and i recommend getting the "demi" size (which is still quite generous) and saving room for their soup (each type of soup i tried was wonderful) and some wine.
i get to visit my bostonian buddy again in a couple months and we're already talking about going back to life alive when i'm there. :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    25
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Nirvana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Order at the bar and then enjoy communal dining in a homey environment. Creative menu with exciting combinations. Everything is made to order so don't rush it. So worth the wait.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“healthy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Yes, health food can be tasty and filling! The people here were very nice as well. The dining area and restrooms need further cleaning and spiffing up though!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Yes it is very good, but the number two restaurant in Cambridge? That doesn't make sense.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Because trip advisor reviews cafés, coffee shops, sandwich shops, as well as fine dining, their algorithm has almost no ability to distinguish between restaurants of a very different style. This is not fine dining. It's fast food done amazingly well with a vegetarian overview. Think of it like this: take a dozen Exhippies and have them make good organic fresh food quickly and serve it to you. It tastes great, it is unique. But for it to be rated the number two restaurant in all of Cambridge is a bit of a stretch.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Healthy food that actually tastes good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Vegetarian food for those of us who never knew we liked vegetables! Everything is delicious ! I don't know how they do it but they make even the most basic things taste good. The place is a throw back to the 60's. you wait in line to order your food and they bring it to your table. Seating downstairs as well. Really good! Try it, you'll love it!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Life Alive also viewed

 

Been to Life Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Life Alive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.