We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible stay in Harvard Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Veritas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Veritas to your Saves list
Hotel Veritas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Remington Street, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Los Altos, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“An incredible stay in Harvard Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have never been to a better hotel. Laurie and Joanie treated us incredibly well. The room was comfortable and fresh. The parking was a great amenity and really made the trip for us. Yummy snacks and drinks. Great bath products. Soft beds. A fun balcony — spring for the upgrade!

Thanks, Hotel Veritas.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a balcony in summer time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
We're so happy that you had such an incredible stay! Thank you for sharing your review of Hotel Veritas on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    72
    25
    7
    0
See reviews for
52
110
47
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

After spending a wonderful Christmas eve with friends and family, we checked in at the Hotel Veritas. We were fortunate to find a parking spot directly in front of the hotel, which could be a rarity during the week. But the glow of our evening's celebration was quickly muted by a somber clerk who checked us in with little warmth or fanfare. Coming in from the cold, we felt like we were being greeted by a character out of Dicken's Christmas Carol rather than by a welcoming staff member, normally expected of a sleek boutique hotel in Cambridge MA. The lobby, however, was elegantly decorated, and we enjoyed a night cap in front of the gas fireplace. The room, on the other hand, was very small, reminding us of our low budget room in Knightsbridge while visiting London many years ago. The queen size bed was elegantly arranged, but leaving no room to sit comfortably or for a place to store our luggage. To make matters worse, the flat screen HD TV was not working, nor were we able to adjust the room themostat. Thus we slept in an overheated room, with the windows wide open. To be fair, we declined the clerk's offer to change our room, since by that time of night we were ready for a good nights sleep on the elegant Egyptian cotton bed sheets. On the other hand, on Christmas morning we were greeted by a smiling, cheerful desk clerk (my wife said she was "delightful"), who serve us a tasty continental breakfast (great coffee and juice) in the lobby. The hotel is located on the edge of Harvard Square with all its amenities. But since it was Christmas morning, we choose to attend the mass at St Paul's Church, located only two blocks away. The choir and organ music was outstanding, which quickly put us back into a celebratory mood. The most memorable part of our visit was falling asleep listening to the sounds of the subway (Red Line) deep within the bowels of the city. I was reminded of other nights falling asleep in grand hotels in great European cities such as Zurich and Amsterdam, listening to the occasional street car below my hotel window passing quietly in the night.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a larger room away on the upper floors and away from Mass Ave, and prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for staying with us over the holidays. I'm so sorry that your visit was a combination of successes and missteps.

We strive to make a personal connection with each of our guests, but clearly the concierge working on Christmas Eve didn't do so - and we apologize. We're also sorry that the television and HVAC controls are a bit confusing and that the room size was smaller than you expected.

Of course, we're pleased that you enjoyed the decor of the guest room and lobby - as well as your night cap and the quality of the bed linens. Thankfully, the concierge working on Christmas day exhibited the delightful service which we like to deliver to our guests.

Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Veritas.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I stayed here for one night before starting a course at HBS. Reception staff were absolutely lovely, from the moment I arrived until the moment I left. Queen room was lovely. A bit noisy on a Saturday night, but absolutely fine with earplugs (bay window on to Mass. Ave). I slept for 14 hours (bit jetlagged!!) so can't have been that bad.

In reception they have free drinks and coffee which were a nice touch.

Great location for public transport and for walking into Harvard Square. Make sure you have the full hotel address to hand - the three taxi drivers I used while I was staying there had never heard of it and had no clue how to get there. The hotel is on the end of a one way street, which hikes the fare up because they have to go round the block - I should have got them to drop me off on Mass Ave to save time and money.

Highly recommended hotel though - brilliant find.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
We hope that your next visit can be for a longer stay! Thank you for posting your review of Hotel Veritas on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I've stayed at Hotel Veritas twice and have really enjoyed it both times. The staff is exceedingly helpful and friendly. Some of the guest rooms are small, though I've not found this to be a problem. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
We truly appreciate that you've stayed with us twice already and found the staff to be so helpful to you. We value our return guests a great deal and enjoy the relationships which we've developed since opening in May 2010.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I spent a Thursday night here on business, and the only rooms available were on the first floor. The first room they gave me had a bay window directly on Mass Ave, which on a Thursday night gave an unacceptable level of noise and exposure to the street. I asked for another room and got the one next door, with a smaller window on an alley, a substantial improvement but not perfect. Both rooms were very small, dominated mostly by the bed, but with nice bathrooms. The second room was a bit drafty. The staff was very friendly, and the complementary soft drinks and coffee were a life saver the next morning. The lounge with a gas fireplace is also quite nice. Good internet service.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors will probably have less noise and less vibration from the T, but none were av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us. We're very pleased that you enjoyed the service and complimentary beverages during your visit. Obviously, we're disappointed that your room wasn't to your liking. You had reserved a Petite Queen, which lives up to its name a small room. While we never describe any of our rooms as large, the Queen, Queen Balcony, King, and Suite offer a little more space than the Petite Queen. Each of the room types is described in detail, including square footage and location in the building, on our website which you may access by clicking the above "Hotel website" link.

We hope that you are able to stay with us again sometime.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Hotel Veritas is like a cross between a B&B and a hotel. The rooms are "small" by chain hotel standards but my room was perfect for me. There various room types so I can only speak to the Queen room. Very comfortable bed, nice bath, more outlets than I have in my bedroom at home. No gym I the hotel but free access to a very nice little gym right across the street. Free water, juice, and coffee right at the front desk, all self service. Outstanding, friendly staff! The front desk staff is always there, unlike a lot of hotels were they come "from the back". They are there with a smile on their face, ready to help. They also act as the "bartender" if you need a nightcap.

The only downside, and it wasn't a problem for me, is that it is not a quiet hotel. The subway runs right under the area and you are close to the road with traffic. Seemed to be a lot of fire truck activity while I was there. I was on the second floor facing the road and I slept fine.

Room Tip: Higher floor might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Our little boutique hotel in Harvard Square certainly isn't commonplace, and we're pleased that we were able to provide you with the service and amenities which made your stay pleasurable.

Thank you for posting your review of Hotel Veritas on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Veritas over Christmas for three nights. We arrived in the afternoon and were checked in quickly, our room was ready and waiting. When we went up to our room we thought it might be better to see if there was a larger room available in case we needed to do some work and called the front desk, they immediately moved us to a slightly larger room with a balcony. I will note here that the rooms are very small, similar to European size, and would not attempt to stay here with children. The room was very clean, housekeeping would come while we were out at breakfast which was a nice touch.

I think we might have been the only people staying on our floor so it was very quiet and peaceful. The bed was very comfortable and our bathroom had a glass shower that was large and felt spacious. Another nice touch is the hotel isn't overly hot, since it was cold outside I was a little worried they might bump the heat up to compensate, luckily that wasn't the case.

The free wi-fi was easy to access and very much appreciated. The signal was strong throughout the hotel.

The staff is friendly and helpful but the hotel doesn't quite have the polish of a Four Seasons. At one point the elevator was not working, which is located directly in front of the check-in desk about 3 feet away, and I asked if the elevator was out of service. The woman working at the desk came around and pushed the button and immediately walked away. It was hysterical, did she think I don't know how an elevator operates? Needless to say, this did not fix the problem and we walked up 5 flights to our room, luckily we did not have luggage with us. Later on in the day the elevator was working again, the cleaning staff had stopped it briefly.

There is a nice selection of beverages available in the lobby including juice, water, soda, and espresso. The espresso maker is tucked away in one of the cabinets so take a look around if you don't see it.

I did get a chance to see the Charles Hotel a few blocks away and was immediately glad that we did not stay there. The Charles was bustling with families and people rushing in and out noisily. Hotel Veritas was pretty much the opposite.

Overall this is a nice little boutique hotel within walking distance of Harvard Square.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Veritas over the holidays. We were glad to be able to upgrade you to the Queen Balcony room for the extra space and that you enjoyed the peacefulness of the hotel.

We're very sorry that the concierge didn't tell you that she was going to investigate the problem with the elevator. She certainly should have communicated more effectively. We apologize for the lapse and inconvenience.

The Charles is a wonderful hotel and we enjoy having them as neighbors. You're right - we are completely different types of hotels. Some guests prefer larger hotels and others prefer hotels of our scale. We're glad there's some place for everyone who visits Harvard Square!

We hope to see you again.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Veritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Veritas

Address: 1 Remington Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Veritas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Veritas is a 31-room independent upscale hotel located in Harvard Square offering intimate service in a hip Cantabrigian setting. The entire look and feel of the hotel is elegant and current, but with a respectful nod towards our traditional and historic neighborhood. The guest rooms are designed with the fine detailing of an old New England residence and furnishings that are interesting contemporary pieces with rich fabrics and textures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Veritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Veritas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.