We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a peaceful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside on Ellery

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Parkside on Ellery to your Saves list
Parkside on Ellery
74 Ellery Street, Cambridge, MA 02138   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Cambridge B&B and Inns
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“a peaceful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A comfortable, generous room with a great view looking out onto the park of Cambridge's public library. Within easy walking distance of central Cambridge, Harvard yard, restaurants and shopping at Inman Square, and scenic Cambridge. Parking in this neighborhood is a challenge but the host provided us with a temporary permit. A personable and attentive host. Small fridge a great plus, good internet access, firm bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
20
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westcliffe, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

An excellent, quiet Cambridge location across the street from the grounds of the library. Five or ten minute walk to Harvard. Everything is just about perfect in the room on the top floor: clean, good bed and everything in good shape. For those who like to socialize, there is no common area. Coffee is good, but breakfast is minimal: English muffins or pretty good muesli. Breakfast rules are rigid. Nothing before 7:30 and don't ask for an exception. I sure do recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon and it was fantastic. From location to value to amenities, Parkside has it all. It lays right on the edge of the Harvard campus and it is about a 10 minute walk to the nearest T station. The best part is the walk is through Harvard Yard which is a travel experience in itself. Parking was not an issue, and it was free! With its location there was no reason to drive anywhere...public transit was the best option.

The value is unbeatable. I searched for hotels in downtown Boston and the price was usually double or more. The Parkside offers a large bed, plenty of room (in the Cambridge room), a clean bathroom, and easy access to the city for a great price. I don't know why anyone would pay to stay at a larger hotel, and have to pay for parking.

We stayed during a warm streak in Boston, and David (the owner) made sure that the A/C was going well in advance and our room was the perfect temperature when we arrived. He also provided lots of valuable information for us regarding attractions, restaurants, transportation, etc. He was a great host, and gave us our privacy but was available to help whenever we needed something.

Room Tip: Cambridge room has breakfast delivered by crank elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was just a perfect place to stay while attending a seminar at Harvard. Private entrance with lovely gardens just outside, walking distance to the university and local restaurants. My room --the Scholar -- was all that I could ask for, quite reasonable and David was the perfect host .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, ky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for Harvard's graduation. The price was very reasonable compared to the nearby hotels, the location was easily within walking distance of campus, the host was friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed relaxing with breakfast in our clean and well decorated rooms. I love the personal attention a bed and breakfast provides as well as the homey environment. I highly recommend Parkside on Ellery.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed in the Scholar room which is in the basement. It has a loud dehumidifier. Breakfast was English Muffin, Orange Juice and coffee delivered to the room. It is better when you stay in a B&B when there is a breakfast room. The worst thing was that I was gone all day and when I returned the bed wasn't made, the towels were on the floor. If this is #2 B&B, I wonder what #3 was like.

DWS. Toronto

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Charming, comfortable & clean. Truly felt like I was coming "home" in the evenings. Great location & wonderful host. Enjoyed the uniqueness of breakfast delivered via dumbwaiter to my room at exactly the time I requested.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Cambridge room and found it delightful--spacious,light & airy--lots of windows j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkside on Ellery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside on Ellery

Address: 74 Ellery Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Parkside on Ellery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside on Ellery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.