We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your time here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvard Museum of Natural History

Harvard Museum of Natural History
26 Oxford Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
617 495 3045
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$40*
and up
Boston Shore Excursion: Cambridge, Lexington and...
Ranked #6 of 42 Attractions in Cambridge
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: More than 12,000 specimens are on display, including the renowned collection of 3,000 'Glass Flowers,' amazingly realistic flame-worked glass models of flowering plants commissioned to teach botany to students in the early 20th century. Family favorites include the dinosaurs and prehistoric mammals as well as more than 500 current day mammals, including skeletons of a rhino, hippo, giraffe and three whales. Outstanding Earth Sciences gallery with rare minerals and meteorites. New exhibits on New England Forests, Sea Creatures in Glass, Mollusks: Shelled Masters of the Marine Realm.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Mexicali, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take your time here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

There is so much to learn in this museum... many of the pieces here were investigated or found by Harvard students. Kid friendly too!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    131
    21
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Harkens back to explorations of yesteryear ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

First off, this museum isn't as polished as some of the other, more famous natural history museums, such as those in New York or DC. Having said that, this gem of a museum (which, incidentally, houses many gems) captures something different: the spirit of discovery from the turn of the 20th century. It is not hard to imagine Harvard academics traipsing the world and gathering specimens. Part of me wishes we still lived in that era, but its spirit is preserved in this excellent museum. The kids loved it and I enjoyed it for different reasons.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Wicked Smaht Museum at Hahvahd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Life-like glass "flowers", systematic and intricate collections of rocks and minerals and spooky "stuffed animals” aplenty: These are just some of what this humble Harvard University museum offers. We visit this museum 4-5 times a year and we learn something new with every visit. Take your time perusing and soaking in "all that knowledge” that Harvard experts laboriously catalogued, categorized and labeled for you.

Our favorite exhibits include but are not limited to the following:
*The kronosaurus and the other animals on display at the Comparative Zoology section
*extensive and amazing mineralogical and geological finds from every corner of the globe
*Blaschka glass models of plants
*go to the connecting Peabody Museum and explore the rich ethnography, history of North American native nations and countless other cultures around the world.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Gem Of A Place To Spend A Rainy Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This museum is a gem!!! It's jam packed with all kinds of interesting things. From the glass flowers to the great mammal hall it has something for everyone. You won't be disappointed with this museum.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A great museum to visit after rubbing John Harvard's foot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family and I finally joined hundreds of thousands of tourists from all over the world to come to Cambridge to take a walk on the prestigious campus and have a photo taken while rubbing John Harvard's foot. After this ritual, we visited the Harvard Museum of Natural History (HMNH). Having already visited the Field Museum in Chicago and the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History in DC, I had low expectation for this place. To my pleasant surprise, it turned out to be a wonderful experience. The museum's displays are comprehensive, interesting, and educational to adults, teens, and young minds alike. There is an admission fee, but it also includes the admission to the Peabody Museum of Archaeology, which is connected to HMNH.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvard Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Harvard Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvard Museum of Natural History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.