We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Broad Glimpse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvard Museum of Natural History

Harvard Museum of Natural History
26 Oxford Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
617 495 3045
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Harvard Museum of Natural History like an insider
$19*
and up
Ranked #5 of 86 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: More than 12,000 specimens are on display, including the renowned collection of 3,000 'Glass Flowers,' amazingly realistic flame-worked glass models of flowering plants commissioned to teach botany to students in the early 20th century. Family favorites include the dinosaurs and prehistoric mammals as well as more than 500 current day mammals, including skeletons of a rhino, hippo, giraffe and three whales. Outstanding Earth Sciences gallery with rare minerals and meteorites. New exhibits on New England Forests, Sea Creatures in Glass, Mollusks: Shelled Masters of the Marine Realm.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Broad Glimpse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I like natural history museums. I've been to quite a few, and this is one of my favorites. The living world is beautiful and fascinating, and this museum captures some of the most remarkable living things to have ever existed. Come in search of something fundamentally amazing about life (as it was and as it is) - you will not be disappointed. If you aren't awe-struck at least once, you aren't doing it right.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    144
    25
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fascinating collections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I visited this museum on my last trip to Harvard. I didn't budget enough time and will be returning on my next trip. One of the exhibits visited was the geological exhibit with hundreds of different minerals, rocks and gems. They are well displayed with clear labels and good visibility. The display also includes some videos and picture boards. This display alone will consume about two hours.

Next door in an airconditioned room is the Glass Flower Exhibit. This is fascinating and should not be missed!! The detailing and delicacy of the flowers are amazing- hard to believe they are glass and several centuries old. Allot several hours for this exhibit as well. Additionally, there is a connecting entrance to the Peabody Museum and other exhibits. I did not budget my time wisely and had to leave before visiting these exhibits.

They were all on the same floor-- other floors were temporarily closed. You could spend a full day at the museum.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Learned a lot - Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went to the Harvard Museum of Natural History during our trip to Boston this October. First of all, it was a very nice walk from the Harvard T stop to the museum. The leaves on campus this time of year are very pretty.

The museum had a lot exhibits with our favorite being the Mammal Exhibit. Everything was very clean and the museum was easy to navigate.

I would recommend this as a part of everyone's visit to the Boston area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Those glass flowers are amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hundreds of perfectly executed glass flowers, so lifelike you'd swear you could smell the fragrance. This is such an unusual exhibit: you really shouldn't miss it. The other displays are interesting, but not much better than any of the other major natural history exhibits. Don't miss the glass flowers, though: you won't see them anywhere else.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“showcasing natural and human wonders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Outstanding collections of minerals and fossils, not to mention the unique and unparalleled collection of glass flowers and plants! A must see for anyone interested in natural history!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvard Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Harvard Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvard Museum of Natural History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.