We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“showcasing natural and human wonders” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvard Museum of Natural History

Harvard Museum of Natural History
26 Oxford Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
617 495 3045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 47 attractions in Cambridge
Type: Natural History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the public museum of Harvard's three research museums. More than 12,000 of the 21 million specimens are on display, including the renowned collection of 3,000 'Glass Flowers,' amazingly realistic flame-worked glass models of flowering plants used to teach botany to students in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Family favorites include the dinosaurs and other prehistoric mammals as well as more than 500 current day mammals, including skeletons of a rhino, hippo, giraffe and three whales.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“showcasing natural and human wonders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Outstanding collections of minerals and fossils, not to mention the unique and unparalleled collection of glass flowers and plants! A must see for anyone interested in natural history!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    116
    15
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The glass flowers are interesting .They also house a fascinating collection of gems and minerals.Another interesting exhibit is the great mammals hall .Huge collection of birds and animals in the small available space .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“lots of specimens, but didn't hold my children's interest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I thought this museum was a bit expensive as an outing with children. Mine are 8 and 3 and they wanted to leave before I did, after just under two hours there. They enjoyed seeing the halls with the many taxidermy animals, but they rushed past a lot and found some places too crowded or things set too high to get a good look. The aisles between cases are narrow. After that, I got them to take a short children's insect tour and see the glass flowers for a bit, and they each made a drawing at a station, then I gave in to their pleas and we left. The visitor who said captions weren't too academic may be on to something--there are apparently impressive things to see for someone informed about what they're seeing, but for the rest of us, this is a treasure box without much key.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dighton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Didn't expect this - excellent well preseved, well organized collections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I completely did not think this was going to be as well as it was. Very organized collections, that were well presented and so much variety. Not sure why some reviews were slightly negative.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Could be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to this, but we're a little under whelmed by the experience. The glass flowers were interesting, as were the minerals, but after a short period, they just get a bit samey. Many of the displays lacked sufficient information. The size of the museum wasn't what we expected and there wasn't even a coffee shop at the end (though there is one close by).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Harvard Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Harvard Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvard Museum of Natural History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Harvard Museum of Natural History to your Saves list