We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvard Museum of Natural History

Harvard Museum of Natural History
26 Oxford Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
617 495 3045
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Harvard Museum of Natural History like an insider
$19*
and up
Ranked #5 of 86 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: More than 12,000 specimens are on display, including the renowned collection of 3,000 'Glass Flowers,' amazingly realistic flame-worked glass models of flowering plants commissioned to teach botany to students in the early 20th century. Family favorites include the dinosaurs and prehistoric mammals as well as more than 500 current day mammals, including skeletons of a rhino, hippo, giraffe and three whales. Outstanding Earth Sciences gallery with rare minerals and meteorites. New exhibits on New England Forests, Sea Creatures in Glass, Mollusks: Shelled Masters of the Marine Realm.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Great museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We went for the glass flowers exhibit, but were easily lured into every other corner of the museum. There was a great exhibit on color in natural, a thoughtful installation on evolution, and the dinosaurs are, of course, a must-see. This should be a stop on everyone's tour of Boston museums.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    144
    25
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently visited this museum with our 4 year old grand-daughter who wanted to see dinosaurs. This was surprisingly full of wonderful specimens of not only dinosaurs but of animals from around the world. I would highly recommend this museum for young children, not for toddlers though.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This museum is highly educational. The exhibits are clear and fascinating. The information is appropriate for the layman but has some very informative content, especially on the subject of evolution of various species, including human. Many of the exhibits are very beautiful - bird and insect specimens in particular.
For me the most outstanding exhibit was the collection of glass flowers - exact botanical replicas made in the late 19th- early 20th century by a father and son team commisioned by Harvard. but there is surely something for everyone interested in the natural world in this museum.

I would not recommend this museum for very young children despite the fact that there are numerous gorgeous birds, insects and other animals on exhibit. The exhibits have an educational purpose beyond just observing which is suitable for older children and adults. Younger children I observed in strollers were getting quite restless while parents struggled to read the interesting information presented.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Very nice visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We especially enjoyed the current glass flower exhibit. Very astounding detail - amazing. Overall a very good and interesting museum. We also thoroughly enjoyed our stroll through Harvard yard on the way to the museum. We took the subway from our downtown Boston hotel and it was quick and easy to get there and back. Also enjoyed eating and shopping in Cambridge. A great day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
boston, ma
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is an out of the way museum that houses some interesting artifacts. Very eclectic collection. Take advantage of the free Sunday mornings.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvard Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Harvard Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvard Museum of Natural History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.