We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-Class Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peabody Museum

Peabody Museum
Harvard University, 11 Divinity Ave., Cambridge, MA 02138
+1 617-496-1027
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$53*
and up
Ranked #17 of 42 Attractions in Cambridge
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From towering Native American totem poles and large Maya sculptures to precious artifacts of the ancient world, the Peabody Museum is among the oldest archaeological and ethnographic museums in the world with one of the finest collections of human cultural history found anywhere.
South Hadley
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First-Class Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have been coming to the Peabody since I was a child growing up in Boston, and now I have the fun of bringing my own children to experience this phenomenal collection. There are exhibits to please everybody, whether the focus is local or distant, animal, mineral, sea-borne or air-borne! You can spend hours carefully browsing and reading detailed descriptions, or stroll through focusing only on those artifacts of your own particular interest. I have always been enchanted by the glass flowers; my son was drawn toward all the gems; my husband loves the artifacts from ancient civilisations of the Americas. You could pass an entire afternoon here and not even notice the time going by.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
611 reviews 611 reviews
375 attraction reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
511 helpful votes 511 helpful votes
“Good exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The exhibit about the Moche civilization in Peru was our goal but we also enjoyed the exhibits of Mayan sites and the depiction of how peoples were perceived in the 16th and 17th century as sea travel put them in contact with one another.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Wonderful place to spend a Sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you are a local resident then you've probably been here many times. For those that are visiting this is a must as you can spend hours and hours discovering relics of old. The American Indian exhibits and Gem and Mineral specimens are top notch!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“close encounter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Peabody Museum is one of the oldest and largest museums of anthropological material, and is particularly strong in New World ethnography and archaeology. The museum is full of national and international historical indigenous artifacts and information. Strongest in the cultures of North, Central and South America and the Pacific Islands. The Peabody is also caretaker to important collections from Africa, Europe, and Asia.The museum is located in a relative small building making it easy and enjoyable to go through the whole collection without being overwhelmed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Peabody Museum/Harvard Campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you are already at the Harvard Museum of Natural History you might want to also visit the Peabody Museum. Wonderful exhibits on the American Indians, the Latin American Indians and the Pacific Island people. Great diaromas of how they lived plus textiles, masks and much, much more.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peabody Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peabody Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.