We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formidable et admirable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitman House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Whitman House to your Saves list
Whitman House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 Worcester St., Cambridge, MA 02139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Formidable et admirable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

5 stars for a great place and two welcoming persons.
We spent a night there, I had the nicest dreams because the bed was soooooo good and the room quiet.
I loved to talk with them, they are really interesting people. We will and want definitly return there!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I throughly enjoyed staying at Whitman House in Cambridge. The room was comfortable and had a very big bed. Free Wifi and DVD's are included. The B&B is in a quiet neighbourhood that is only a short walk from the centre of Cambridge, as well as being close to the Metro.

David and Robert are very generous and interesting hosts - and they gave a lot of excellent advice about what to do without being overbearing.

I would definitely stay at Whitman House again if I was back in Boston.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent four days at the Whitman house in mid June. It was comfortable, clean and above all quiet which was just what we needed to begin our vacation. The hosts David and Robert were very pleasant and made our stay even better. We had plenty of privacy, use of the outdoor patio and common area inside. The inn is very close to the T and many excellent restaurants and bakeries.

Room Tip: Gold room was very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We returned to our friends David and Robert at Whitman House when we came to watch our son run his first Boston Marathon. Thankfully, we exited the Marathon finish area before the tragic explosions. Whitman House continues to be a place of wonderful hospitality and stimulating conversations. On this trip it was also a place of peace and strength in the midst of tragedy and fear. We look forward to returning again to our "home away from home" at other times for celebrations and fun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The 1836 vintage restoration is fab! So beautiful and affordable! A short walk to the T station through a lovely neighborhood. Two stops to Beacon Hill. We walked to Harvard. Super location. The well-stocked kitchen is yours for whatever breakfast you desire. Robert and David are great hosts.This will be our lodging for future trips to Boston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The house has a great central location to dicover Boston, just a five minute walk to the T (3-4 Stops to downtown Boston or Harvard). The house is located in the middle of Cambridge with plenty of shops, bars and grocery stores within walking distance.
The room was clean and big enough for two,private bath was not en suite (which we knew before) but the bathroom was also used from other guests or people working at the house.

Breakfast was a disappointment, the food was laid out in the kitchen (the dirty dishes of the day before still in the sink next to the food) and everyone was preparing their own breakfast. Very simple, you should check the exspiration date on toast and bagles and we had moldy toast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Whitman House, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are answering this review because it is misleading. Regarding bathrooms, we occasionally go into bathrooms to fix equipment, check heating/cooling, clean, replace linens and this is the only reason a guest would find that someone had 'used' a bathroom barring an emergency or someone breaking the rules. Regarding breakfast, preparing breakfast for guests in a bed and breakfast home in Massachusetts is illegal. For that reason 'preparation' consists of pouring a chosen cereal or toasting bread-that is choosing from already prepared items which do not involve any cooking. Because we do not use breads that have preservatives, a mold spot could occur which we could miss given the five or six types of breads in packages we offer.We apologize for this but feel it is a preferable problem to having breads that consist of chemicals that keep them seeming fresh for weeks. Guests leave their dishes in our large sink rather than the dishwasher after they eat and because they eat at different times it is possible for someone to assume that dishes are from the night before which is not possible as dishes are always washed at the end of the night every night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Whitman House with our 15 year old daughter, thanks to the kind, friendly and gracious of David and Robert. Got local knowledge and tips on transport, tourist spots and even got to make our own pancakes in the mornings! We'll definitely stay here again as/when we get back to this lovely part of the US.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitman House

Address: 17 Worcester St., Cambridge, MA 02139
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitman House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though our Bed and Breakfast has been newly renovated, we think of the Whitman House as an established Cambridge residence, inn, and guesthouse. We are a 15 minute walk from both Harvard and MIT, or a 3 minute walk to the Central Square Red Line subway which gets you to the heart of either in one stop and the Heart of Boston in three. We have been personally involved in community affairs for over 26 years and glad to be your conduit to the cities of Boston and Cambridge. Beginning with no taxes, free off street parking on site, wireless internet, private bathrooms, and a flexible breakfast schedule; there is nothing you could need that isn't approachable in one way or another. This is a beautiful place that we wish you to enjoy, share and experience to its fullest as you conduct your stay. Please see the rest of our site for the full picture. Then be sure to Call Us Directly or email for any questions, comments, requests and bookings. Thank you and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Whitman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitman House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.