We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian's delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofra Bakery & Cafe

Sofra Bakery & Cafe
1 Belmont St, Cambridge, MA 02138-4404
617-661-3161
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 554 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Vegetarian's delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place would be perfect if you could always find a seat. It's a tiny little place, but they work with what they have, and I personally find it exciting to be amongst others who value excellent food over comfort. The food is divine, inventive, made with care, and fresh. Try their Turkish breakfast (available mornings and weekends until 3), and you will never look at an egg the same way again. Order mezze (salads and spreads) singly or as a platter (get the platter-- just do it). If you are vegetarian, you will be in heaven. I would say that more than half of their offerings are vegetarian-friendly. Their prices, while higher than your average breakfast/lunch joint, are more than justified, as the quality of their food surpasses that of anywhere else I can think of in the Boston area for lunch. I come here with my husband when we want something really special for lunch. We go to Oleana (sister restaurant serving dinner, run by the same chef) when we celebrate special occasions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good concept but so so experience and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Agree with other reviewers that the experience is not that great. We were lucky to find parking in the small lot next to the place. It is true you have to walk up to the counter for every single item you order. The cheese pie (burek) had an interesting texture, but not that flavorful. The sharmas were on the small side, and again not very flavorful. More like an appetizer than a "main course" which is what they are priced at. The lemonade was fabulous. The coffee cake so so. I also bought some rose jam to try it out and while tasty, it's too runny/watery. I'm glad we tried it out, but wouldn't go out of my way to go back, esp. given how overpriced it is.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
1 review
“Bad logistics, unpleasant service, good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

It's a tossup - are logistics here more frustrating than the service/kitchen people are rude, uneager to please or are the seats more uncomfortable and hard to come by? You wait to order in a heap of a line, your name is called out piecemeal for each drink, then next drink, then one person's food, then another -- so whatever conversation or peace you hoped to have is repeatedly shattered. No smiles, the energy of the kitchen is NOT happy, and the staff is not eager to please customers. Not happy with your drink somehow - tough. You can pay for something else (another 3-4 dollars, even for regular customers who never complain. The food is very good, unusual and fresh, prices are on the rather high side. Difficult parking - but the worse thing is the attitude. It's a tossup. I'd go elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“As much as I want to like Sofra...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

...it's really not a lot of fun to go there. Sometimes, there's no where to sit. If there is, the seats are uniformly uncomfortable and the tables are so small that there's a lot of balancing. You also have to do a fair amount of "work," what with ordering, picking up, and getting your utensils. Like in a cheap pizza shop. All of this leads to a less-than-relaxing experience when I've wanted to catch up with friends; better off going for a walk. The food is generally good (small portions) but sometimes underseasoned. The few sweet things I've had have been superb.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“small cafe with delicious Turkish inspired small plates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The food is fabulous and sometimes unusual. Seating is quite limited but it is easy to get food to go. Check out the spice collection available for purchase

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofra Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sofra Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofra Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.