We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boiled Virginia Peanuts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Mother - CLOSED

Hungry Mother
233 Cardinal Medeiros Ave, Cambridge, MA 02141
+1 617-499-0090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $34 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Binney St.
Transit: Hungry Mother is a 10 minute walk from the Kendall-MIT redline stop. Walk through Marriott hotel, turn left on Broadway, cross railroad tracks, bear right on Hampshire St., turn right on Cardinal Medeiros Ave. The restaurant is at the end of the block on the left.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Boiled Virginia Peanuts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I visited the Hungry Mother as part of a Business Trip to MIT. It was a little hard to find ( but that might just have been me!)
The restaurant is small so I would recommend that you book so you are not disappointed as people where been turned away.
We started with the Boiled peanuts which i still think about from time to time! They are like a American version of edamame beans with salt, very nice indeed. I then moved on so some pork belly with collared greens and grits which was delicious, I wish grits was on menus in the UK.
If I am ever in Boston again this will be on my "must go " list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    50
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Southern Food I've had in a looooooong time! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had dinner here last night! What a treat!

The atmosphere is really nice and the staff extremely well prepared, and polite.

Wine selection is not too vast but really nice with some real connoisseur pics.

We had boiled nuts, beef tongue, fried oysters, and gnocchi plus the delicious cornbread which was spectacular! Unfortunately no fried tomatoes last night...

As a main we got trout, chicken and pork which where all superbly cooked and the chicken was one of the most tender meats I have ever tried!

Desert was very delicate with a triumph of flavors in the mouth.

Parking is easy across the street in the cinema garage which is validated by the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, co
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seriously great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Some of the best southern food I've had and I grew up in the south. Its a new approach for sure and it's wonderful. We tried the corn bread, kilt salad, scallops, pork, spice cake and loved every bite. Drinks where exceptionally good as well. Not only was the food wonderful, I really liked the vibe of the place. It was a really busy night but wait staff was flawless and conversation was easily audible.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, US
Level Contributor
329 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fantastic Southern food in Cambridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The bartender made what my husband described as the 'best Manhattan I've ever had'. Great way to start an evening! The cornbread was delicious, served as a single round with delicious butter. Our group of 3 had no trouble finishing the larger order. My pork shoulder with bratwurst, greens and grits was a great symphony of taste. The scallops and oysters were delicious too. We shared the 'kilt' salad with baby kale and other wonderful fresh ingredients. The menu is short but all choices were wonderful. The noise level was low enough to allow for conversation without yelling. The menu changes frequently but it's all tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Creative and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a great meal. Great food combinations, creative creations, and local ingredients.

Try the local cider from Cambridge -- Delicious.

Not really near anything (except MIT,) but worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Mother also viewed

Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Mother, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.