We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for a pint!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Druid

The Druid
1357 Cambridge Street, Cambridge, MA
617-497-0965
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 553 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Northern, NY
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great stop for a pint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This pub is a lot of fun. Our first stop after landing in Cambridge, we saddled up to the bar and ordered a pint of Guinness and tried a couple of other beers on tap. The bartender, Mike, was a lot of fun and attentive. We liked the place so much, we stopped back on Saturday night. The place was packed, lots of energy and an eclectic crowd. It can be pretty noisy on the weekends, but it is a neat place and we wished we had a pub like this at home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Turnersville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

After reading reviews figured we couldn't go wrong. We arrived and quickly found a table, although there weren't that many so we felt lucky on a saturday night! Our waitress seemed burnt out, not friendly to out of towners and fed up with colege students. She varied between nice, just tolerating us and hating us I think- we'd never been before, we had some questions. The Irish waiter, on the other hand, was quite nice and friendly. We had their tag team service throughout the meal. The so well talked about fish and chips were good, but I certainly wouldn't call them the best Id ever had. My husband had irish sausage and mashed which came with baked beans...nothing special, could have been canned but he said his meal was fine. So we were disappointed and strolled to Christina's Ice Cream down the street where we were not disappointed and put a smile on our face LOL In fairness the stew and steak dish on the table next to us, looked quite good

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great place to stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a small place, with great food and great drinks! The staff is from the old country, beer is cold and everyone knew everyone. It is a locals place, that makes you feel like one of the family. It reminded me of an old European pub. This is a must go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Friendly pub with great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We first stopped in for a beer and came back the next day for lunch because of what we saw being served. Everything looked good but I ended up with the fish and chips, which were tasty and light. My partner has Shepherds Pie, which was undoubtedly the best dish of the three. Flavorful and rich chunks of lamb. Her brother had the beef stew, also excellent with tasty chunks of beef in a nice rich stew.

We'd go back in a minute, and certainly next time we are in Cambridge. The food was memorable and reasonably priced (well, for Cambridge). The Druid has the feel of an Irish pub and well worth the trip to Inman Square.

Go and enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Definitely try it out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Awesome atmosphere here, can get crowded at times.

But the food is really good (especially the Fish and Chips) and it's a fun place to eat.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Druid also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to The Druid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Druid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.