We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find your Harvard Memorabilia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvard Cooperative Society

Harvard Cooperative Society
1400 Massachusetts Ave., Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 499-2000
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 42 Attractions in Cambridge
Type: Specialty Shops, Cultural
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The Coop" is the Harvard college store, known for its expansive collection of books, posters and University insignia merchandise.
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Find your Harvard Memorabilia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you are looking for that hard to find Book or that T-Shirt for that special one this is the place. What a wonderful discovery this was, I just wish we had more time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Take a Breather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Coop as it is well known, is a great place to stop and take a breather. It offers a terrific selection of all sorts of books and other materials. The Harvard Cooperative Society was founded by Harvard students in 1882 and established as a cooperative opened to the public. It carries the largest selection of officially licenses Harvard logo clothing and gifts in the area. It has a Coop Cafe that offers very delightful eat in or on to go food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quality products, super-efficient service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I am a member and a supporter of this society so I am a little biased towards it. It was such a pleasure and surprise to receive a check from the Society some years ago, which I meant to send back to support the society. I find the customer service at the shop and online to be excellent. And I am pretty sure our Harvard Alumni or anyone who's studied at Harvard feels pretty much patriotic and positively towards supporting the Harvard Co-operative Society.

I was afforded the best service possible online when I ordered my diploma frame through the society's online shop, and every care was taken to ensure safe dispatch and delivery. It was worth every dollar I spent on it. Thank you so much!

My only suggestion is for the Society to stock my kiddie's clothing and varieties of it. There doesn't seem to be anything for kids between 18 months and 7-10 years. I'm sure we could fill this gap?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expansive but a bit overwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

You will probably find the rare book or the magazine you are looking for at the COOP. But this attraction is on the touristy side. You will have to endure the inconvenient, narrow store layout and crowds of students. Definitely avoid the cafe if you can. There are so many better places to get a cup of coffee and relax in Harvard Square.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A place for books and reading”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Although The Harvard COOP has changed a lot through the years, it is still an excellent bookstore. It shows respect for books and learning. It has a lot of space for reading. I do miss the men's and women's clothes department of the old COOP.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harvard Cooperative Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvard Cooperative Society, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.