We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed. No real breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Memorial Drive, Cambridge, MA 02139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mixed. No real breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel rooms have been redone, so nice inside. Staff very helpful and courteous. But very limited food access is a major disappointment. The hotel has no real breakfast option. You can only buy a very limited set of highly overpriced items in the coffee shop. Same for dinner. I arrived late and all I could eat was a frozen pizza microwaved ... Would not stay again mainly due to limited breakfast option. For this price range ($300+) I expect convenience

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine C, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello abinitio,

Thank you so much for staying with us recently at the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge, and for posting a review of your experience on Trip Advisor! We are so glad to hear that you had noticed our renovation and liked the new look and found our staff to be helpful and friendly. However, we do apologize that you were not satisfied with our food availability, especially breakfast. One of the requirements of our renovation was to follow the new Courtyard brand standards across the country and that included adapting the new “Bistro style” breakfast. However, we have started incorporating daily specials into our existing breakfast choices to give some variety as we have received feedback from our guests and has given us the opportunity to improve and guarantee the utmost comfort and luxury for our guests. We do hope that if your travels bring you back to the Cambridge area, you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you once again to improve your experience. Thank you again for your feedback, best of luck and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    173
    89
    31
    11
See reviews for
125
90
46
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If in Cambridge, not a bad choice. Rooms upgraded. New bar area in restaurant. Checking in is a pain with so many cabs in pull in area. Will go back. Reception on Wednesday nights. Nice fitness center. Ask for view of river. Running trail across street.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine C, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello KABigBlue,
Thank you so much for staying with us recently at the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge, and for posting a nice review of your experience on Trip Advisor! We are so glad to hear that you had enjoyed our renovated rooms as well as our brand new fitness center and the brand new Bistro/bar area. We truly appreciate all of the feedback that we receive from our guests as it gives us the chance to showcase and/or improve certain areas. However, we do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced getting to the front entrance of the hotel through the driveway. We are about to completely repave our entrance driveway and add taxi parking spots so our guests take priority of our space! Should your travels bring you back to Cambridge, it would be our pleasure to accommodate you once again. Thank you again for your feedback, best of luck and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Selected this location in Cambridge as a Family focal point to celebrate my son's graduation from Bentley University. With 4 adults and 5 siblings and cousins, it was a great location to get to Boston's North End, Harvard Square, Waltham or any of the surrounding area for dining, sightseeing, or attending events. Also organized a 6 mile walk along the Charles River which was fantastic.
The Courtyard has been newly updated to the "bistro" look. Trader Joes is next door for snacks and drinks (great beer/wine /cheese/bread selection).
Pool was still closed due to remodeling Parking expensive $35 for overnight.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine C, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello acs10580,
Thank you so much for staying with us recently at the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge, and for posting a nice review of your experience on Trip Advisor! I would like to start off by saying congratulations to you and your son for graduating from Bentley University, what an accomplishment that is! But we are so glad that you had enjoyed your weekend and you had enjoyed our convenient location so you could easily attend the graduation as well as explore around the Boston/Cambridge area. Should your travels bring you back to Cambridge, it would be our pleasure to accommodate you once again. Thank you again for your feedback, best of luck and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Standard Marriott quality with handy shuttle to Harvard, MIT and the MBTA. Centrally located on the Cambridge side of the Charles River, it is a 20 minute max walk to Harvard Square, Central Square and Kendall Square. Or take the hotel shuttle for $5.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine C, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello Hondomcr,

Thank you so much for staying with us recently at the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge, and for posting a nice review of your experience on Trip Advisor! We are so glad to hear that we had met your Marriott quality standards and you had enjoyed our location and proximity to a number of places around Cambridge! Should your travels bring you back to Cambridge, it would be our pleasure to accommodate you once again. Thank you again for your feedback, best of luck and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had a single overnight at The Courtyard at the beginning of May. Overall, the stay was nice and pleasant.

I was glad to see they have onsite parking for guests. It will run you about $35 per day, which is steep in my book but standard practice with Marriott across all their brands (usually pricier with other brands).

Check in was quick and easy. Staff was friendly. I was happy to see there is a restaurant onsite. Also, the hotel has their own Bistro for breakfast and for evening, including a bar. I checked it out in the evening. It was packed and the staff seemed a bit overwhelmed. But they make a good drink. For breakfast, I was more focused on the coffee than what food they offered. FYI - The coffee and breakfast is not complimentary.

My room was nicely appointed. I did not have a great view but I did have a window that opens. It was a gorgeous day in Boston/Cambridge and it was nice to have fresh air.

The hotel has shuttles to take you to main points of interest - Harvard Square, etc. Also, there are a ton of cabs that come through at any given point in time.

The only drawback I experienced was a noise that woke me up at 5AM. It sounded like a loud elevator, but I was nowhere near the elevator. Anyway, the sound continued until I left close to check out time. I brought the sound up to the staff at the front desk and they didn't have a clue what could be making that sound. If it wasn't for this sound, the hotel would have received "very good" instead of "average".

For the price, I might consider another hotel before returning here. It was great, but pricey.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine C, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello Aimee B,
Thank you so much for staying with us recently at the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge, and for posting a review of your experience on Trip Advisor! We are thankful that you had taken the time to write a review on a lot of services and amenities and you had enjoyed all of them! We truly appreciate all of the feedback that we get from our guests as it gives us the opportunity to showcase and/or improve certain areas. We are so glad that you had found our staff helpful and courteous, you were able to utilize our shuttle service as well as try out our brand new Bistro for breakfast and dinner! However, we do sincerely apologize for the noise issue you had experienced during your stay. I can assure you that we are investigating this and making sure if possible we can rectify the issue! Should your travels bring you back to Cambridge, it would be our pleasure to accommodate you once again and give us the opportunity to improve your experience. Thank you again for your feedback, best of luck and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Harvard recommended this hotel and one other for a weeklong session at special rate of $279+tax. Walk to the college was a mile along the Charles River-- lovely in the morning and evening.

Rooms have been re done so they are comfortable and well appointed. The hotel doesn't have much personality. Buy your own breakfast in the coffee shop- yogurt, Starbucks in a heated pot, fresh fruit.

Parking is $35 a day in an outside lot.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine C, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Barbara G,

Thank you so much for staying with us recently at the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge, and for posting a nice review of your experience on Trip Advisor! As you had mentioned, we have just recently finished a top-to-bottom renovation and we are very excited about the final product and we love to hear feedback from our guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed our convenient location to Harvard University and that you enjoyed the walk along the Charles River. Should your travels bring you back to Cambridge, it would be our pleasure to accommodate you once again. Thank you again for your feedback, best of luck and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in Boston to hear my daughter sing her Senior Recital and since my wife had knee issues and could not come, I shared this room with my sister. My review is biased by the fact that she said that weekend rooms were $350. She used Marriott points.

The Good - Trader Joes is just out the back door. The view from the room was nice of the Charles River and we could see Fenway Park lit up at night. The beds were bright white and tastefully adorned with four pillows and slept well. The refrigerator worked so well that once ice crystals were found in the milk I had to turn the thermostat warmer. The green space next to the river is extremely pretty right now with the daffodils in bloom. Rarely is there not a taxi waiting. However I am certain that my daughter got "taken for a ride" when the fare was $11.60 for 1.5 miles.

The Bad - We arrived early (11:00) and were told no rooms were available for check-in. My sister asked for a call when a room was available but never received a call. The TV must have been wireless because stations would suddenly say "no signal" often. No microwave in the room. A single cup coffee maker and only one regular coffee pack. Only one light in the small bathroom which left you in the dark when you closed the shower curtain. No coffee or other complimentary beverages in the lobby. A letter from the manager lists "close proximity" to the T as a feature. It is 0.8 miles from the Red line, quite a hike with luggage. It is closer to the Green line and an easier walk but still 10 minutes walking with purpose. If you bring a car, have plenty of budget in reserve for the huge cost of parking ($35/day).

The Ugly - The porcelain convenience had a valve handle like one would find in public facilities. Not a very pretty fixture. And from there you could see the plumbing from the sink running to the wall. It looked unfinished. Something I would expect from a budget hotel but not from a Courtyard.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the East have a great view of BU and Boston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine C, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello MrTympani,

Thank you so much for staying with us recently at the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge, and for posting a review of your experience on Trip Advisor. It is unfortunate and we regret that your experience was not a satisfying one and we did not meet your expectations. We have recently finished a complete top-to-bottom renovation where all of our space and guest rooms were completely transformed and upgraded! But we apologize that your room and our space did not meet your expectations and that you had to face certain issues throughout your stay. But we do truly appreciate your feedback, as it is very important to us that we hear the observations and preferences to improve and guarantee the utmost comfort and luxury for our guests. However, we are glad to hear that you appreciated our convenient location to Trader Joes as well as our spectacular views of the Charles River. Again, I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations as a Marriott hotel the first time around, but should your travels bring you back to the Cambridge area, it would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to accommodate you once again and improve your experience. Thank you again for staying with us, best of luck and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge

Address: 777 Memorial Drive, Cambridge, MA 02139
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#14 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Boston Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Cambridge Marriott
Cambridge Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.