We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Memorial Drive, Cambridge, MA 02139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Cambridge
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great front desk staff! Super friendly and helpful. Plus the hotel has a free shuttle that will take you into Cambridge. That's a great service since it's really hard to find a parking spot in Cambridge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee P, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge! Our primarily goal is to exceed guest expectations and our front desk staff is a key component of that mission. We are very proud of our front desk staff.

We hope you come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    160
    80
    29
    6
See reviews for
116
85
44
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Convenient to Mass Ave in Cambridge and wonderful overlooking view of the Charles River. Very clean and comfortable room. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was excellent. It was the first time staying there and I will stay there in the furture. On drawback, which a lot of Boston hotels are doing, is the charge of 32 dollars to park in their lot. Living here, I'm used to Massachusetts sticking a gun in your back for anything it can get out of you but this is an appalling practice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee P, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge! We are trilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience while staying with us. I realize the parking fee may seem high, however, I guarantee that our pricing is very competitive with other hotels in the area and is actually a bit lower than most.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stayed at many Marriott and Hilton brand hotels for business and pleasure over the past 20 years, so you sort of come with various expectations. But they were all exceeded at this Courtyard! I think had one of the nicest and most pleasant greetings ever (thank you Sandra at the front desk!). Not only did I win a complimentary buffet breakfast in their contest for Elite members, but Sandra also very kindly comped me a second breakfast so that my traveling companion "wouldn't have to watch me eat!" The hotel was clearly recently renovated; the room was spacious and bright; the bed was very comfortable, and I loved the Paul Mitchell toiletries. Great buffet breakfast as well; definitely a notch above most Courtyards. There's also a Trader Joe's around the corner, and a fridge in the room, so if you're like me and prefer your own food when you travel, that was easily done. One downside was that it costs $32 per night to park in the hotel parking lot. Anyway, bottom line: great hotel, super pleasant staff!

Room Tip: Not sure on this one -- I think we had a view of the Charles in one direction but not sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee P, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge! We are thrilled you had such a wonderful experience. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations. Sandra is a valuable key member of our front staff and is always very welcoming. We look forward to your future stay.

Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Elevators being upgraded so only one in service. Nice lounge restaurant area overlooking the river. Parking is $25+.
Antiseptic smell in hallways but room was nice clean. Staff was friendly. Next to trader Joes short walk to whole foods nice place to watch activity on the river.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee P, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge for your stay! we do apologize for the elevators, we are undergoing renovations and are installing state of the art elevators in which the renovations will be complete next week. We welcome all feedback and hope you come back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The elevators were broken the whole time I was there, so they put me on the 2nd floor. Unfortunately the window view was to a parking lot and the garbage truck woke me up at 4:30am every morning. One good thing is that it is right next to Trader Joe's, MicroCenter, Starbuck's and Massage Envy. Staff did the best they could under the circumstances. Room had older heating/cooling unit, so impossible to get comfortable temperature. At least they had HGTV...

Room Tip: Rooms higher than level 4 would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee P, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge! we sincerely apologize for the one elevator in service. We are currently completing our state of the art elevator upgrades which should be done by next week. We understand how frustrating it can be to be woken up so early due to the garbage truck and sincerely apologize for your inconvenience. We do hope you will reconsider coming back and staying with us once all of our renovations are complete.

We thank you and appreciate all your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I realize that there is a flue epidemic in the Boston region and in many parts of the United States, but that doesn't mean that I have hear my fellow hotel guests coughing through the walls.

The walls are so thin that I could hear the guest next to me typing on his computer, speaking on the phone and, of course, coughing. This is to be expected from lesser hotel chains, but should not be acceptable for a Marriott property.

Yes, you can get great deals at this hotel, but is it worth having a sleepless night due to your next door neighbor's coughing? No. It's just a poorly built property.

The rooms have an older decor and to be honest, have a bit of a sterile smell. Sure, it's clean, but almost the smell of an extended stay room within a hospital.

On the positive side, the restaurant in the lobby is quite good and the front desk staff are actually very friendly.

I would never stay here again. It's not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee P, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge! We do apologize for the noisy disturbance throughout your stay. The hotel has undergone 25 million dollars in renovations in 2009 and is currently undergoing additional renovations as the state of the art upgrade on the elevators and room upgrades which will be completed by month end. We do strive in exceeding guest expectations so we are happy to hear the front desk staff was friendly. We do hope you will reconsider coming back to visit us in the future after our renovations and appreciate all your feedback.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Pretty average hotel. It was clean and comfortable with a nice river view. The biggest problem was that is it so far from a T stop. However, the walk through the nice Cambridge neighborhood was fun although long in the cold rain.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee P, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi Gina,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott Boston-Cambridge! We are glad to hear you had a great stay with us. We do offer shuttle service to the T stop in Cambridge being .7 miles from the hotel to avoid a long walk in the cold weather or rain. We also offer it anywhere in Cambridge to accomodate all of our guests needs. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge

Address: 777 Memorial Drive, Cambridge, MA 02139
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Boston Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Cambridge Courtyard
Cambridge Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Boston Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.