We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christina's Homemade Ice Cream

Christina's Homemade Ice Cream
1255 Cambridge St, Cambridge, MA 02139-1338
617-492-7021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Dessert in Cambridge
Price range: $0 - $10
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Wonderful ice cream, but it would've been better if it was served with a smile. Bitter customer service made the ice cream a little less sweet

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caelynbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
186 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great flavors, indifferent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We'd heard about the specialty flavors and were eager to check this place out. The kids behind the counter definitely seemed to wish to be somewhere else, but they did give samples when requested. I had the burnt sugar and chocolate mousse and hubby had pistachio and almond coconut. But very good. The ambience wasn't exactly special, so between that and the service, I'm not sure we'd go back, but it was worth a trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dramady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“mixed emotions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

we came here after having ice cream at toscaninis and i have to say i was disappointed, its not the the ice cream was bad, in fact i had the burnt sugar which was great but the ambience was horrible. it looked like an old pizzeria that was converted to the current store. also, as soon as you walk in it smells like spices, so i was thrown off by that, apparently they also own the spice shop next door (also called christina's) and keep the adjoining door open at times so the smells waft in. don't even think about using the bathroom here! overall i wouldn't go back...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Upas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best homemade ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Located in Inman Square, Cambridge, home of many of the best restaurants in Cambridge, Christina's is a great place to come for dessert, or any time you feel like eating amazing ice cream.
Great flavors (try the fresh mint or the coffee), great hot fudge, whipped cream, fun seating and atmosphere with original art. Next door they have a spice and tea shop that's great if you're there during the day when it's open. Even when they have a line, it moves very quickly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Gotta try this if in Cambridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

While an student in Cambridge, I loved this place.

Ice-creams are delicious, and they have tons of flavors... never got bored. My favs... Oreo, Mexican Chocolate and Peanut Butter.

Prices are fair, about $5 for a 3-flavor ice cream with big servings.

Service is not the best though...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danudanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christina's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Christina's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing