We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great flavors, indifferent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christina's Homemade Ice Cream

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Christina's Homemade Ice Cream
1255 Cambridge St, Cambridge, MA 02139-1338
617-492-7021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 554 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“great flavors, indifferent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We'd heard about the specialty flavors and were eager to check this place out. The kids behind the counter definitely seemed to wish to be somewhere else, but they did give samples when requested. I had the burnt sugar and chocolate mousse and hubby had pistachio and almond coconut. But very good. The ambience wasn't exactly special, so between that and the service, I'm not sure we'd go back, but it was worth a trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“mixed emotions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

we came here after having ice cream at toscaninis and i have to say i was disappointed, its not the the ice cream was bad, in fact i had the burnt sugar which was great but the ambience was horrible. it looked like an old pizzeria that was converted to the current store. also, as soon as you walk in it smells like spices, so i was thrown off by that, apparently they also own the spice shop next door (also called christina's) and keep the adjoining door open at times so the smells waft in. don't even think about using the bathroom here! overall i wouldn't go back...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best homemade ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Located in Inman Square, Cambridge, home of many of the best restaurants in Cambridge, Christina's is a great place to come for dessert, or any time you feel like eating amazing ice cream.
Great flavors (try the fresh mint or the coffee), great hot fudge, whipped cream, fun seating and atmosphere with original art. Next door they have a spice and tea shop that's great if you're there during the day when it's open. Even when they have a line, it moves very quickly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Gotta try this if in Cambridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

While an student in Cambridge, I loved this place.

Ice-creams are delicious, and they have tons of flavors... never got bored. My favs... Oreo, Mexican Chocolate and Peanut Butter.

Prices are fair, about $5 for a 3-flavor ice cream with big servings.

Service is not the best though...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bar None--Best Ice Cream Around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Incredibly rude staff, but Christina's delish ice cream keeps me coming back for more abuse!

Tip: Christina's Homemade Ice Cream is a cash-only establishment.

Yet another tip: Look out for seasonal flavors like pumpkin during fall, rose in the spring, etc.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christina's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Christina's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christina's Homemade Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.