We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Potential, But Lacking In Execution” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Angela's Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Angela's Garden to your Saves list
Angela's Garden
Via dell omo morto 20a, 00062 Bracciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Bracciano B&B and Inns
Marsascala, Malta
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Has Potential, But Lacking In Execution”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We visited Angela's Garden for the New Year period and stayed for about a week. Getting there was relatively straight forward, though on arrival it was not clear exactly where it was as there was no signs or indications of the guest house' presence. This was exacerbated by the fact that the guest house is hidden from the road by a high hedge. We ended up having to give the owner a call on the phone to let them know we were outside and ask exactly where we had to go. Once in, the place itself is quite nice. Basically it's a converted villa with half the building consisting of a number of guest rooms and the other half being where the owners reside. It has a pleasant location with country views and is only 5 minutes drive from Bracciano. The owners have a couple of somewhat overly friendly dogs. While this, for us, was not an issue, it is something to keep in mind if you're not a dog lover. Overall the room was clean and decently equipped having free internet access via WIFI. While the overall package is attractive, I do find it difficult to recommend Angela's Garden as there were a number of things which spoiled the overall experience. First of all I feel that this is not a place to consider for the winter. The room was equipped with air-conditioning which we used to heat the room, however it was somewhat poor and only managed to warm up the area were the bed was located. The room had two logical sections in an open plan layout and the area where the TV was located did not receive any heat and remained cold. We are early risers and prefer to head back to our hotel early so this was a bit of a problem for us. The bathroom was also quite small and cold with no heating at all and remained damp and uninviting. The shower curtain also had some mold on it. I also found it irritating that I had to specifically ask for fresh towels each day - they would not be replaced otherwise. Our biggest misadventure was quite astonishing however. After having spent a day out we returned to the guest house. My wife was first to the room and to her surprise found a key in the lock. On trying the door she found it open and to her even greater surprise found one of the owner's dogs trapped inside. Needless to say we were shocked but fortunately nothing was missing or damaged, although the dog had chewed my wife's suitcase slightly. We immediately tried to contact the owner to no avail and I had to leave a message on their answering machine instead. A few hours later the owner came along and was very apologetic. Apparently she had to attend to an urgent matter in Rome and forgot to lock our room or ensure her dog was safely out. While I can understand that she may have been in a rush, this does not justify what we found when we returned to our room. There were other little problems like forgetting to put coffee in the coffee pot and giving us a pot of boiled water instead. Unfortunately, while in general, these issues may have been minor ones, when taken collectively they did sour our experience. It is with this in mind that I can't really recommend Angela's Garden till they improve their product. There is great potential there and I suspect that it would be much more pleasant in spring or summer. The owners are also friendly and do make an honest and sincere attempt to provide a good service, however it is an amateur operation with too many issues. The end result is that I cannot recommend Angela's Garden as a place to stay while visiting Bracciano.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bracciano, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ther's nothing better than a relaxing place to spend your holidays in Bracciano like Angela's Garden B&B.
First of all for its warm atmosphere: the owners Angela and Lutz are very friendly and available to fulfill all your requests (they perfectly speak Italian, German, Spanish, Franch etc.)
Angela is a specialist of home made cooking: your tongues will be happy and satisfied...
Secondly, it is very close to Bracciano and its lake, to the Italian Air Force Museum, and to the railway station, useful to reach in 50 minutes the centre of Rome without the risk of being jammed in the traffic.
It is only a little bit difficult to find, so be sure to have your navigator and the Angela's phone number...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Last year (July 2012) we stayed at Angela's Garden for two such amazing weeks, that we didn't hesitate a second choosing where to spend our next vacation, it was Angela's Garden again. I must say that it is absolutely unique place. From the first minutes of staying there we've been in raptures over charming villa surrounded by magnificent garden where our children loved to play. The apartment was very nice and cosy and the most delicious thing there was our spacious terrace with stunning view of the garden where we used to have meals and from where children could go directly to the garden.
But what makes Angela's Garden exceptionally special are its hosts - Angela and Lutz. We were captivated by their warm hospitality and cordiality. They really care of their guests. We felt ourselves like one and only dear guests. Whatever we needed Angela and Lutz always helped us. I strongly doubt that someone could find better Rome and Bracciano guides then Angela and Lutz. But I'm absolutely sure that noone can resist the temptation of Angela's cooking: pizza, cakes, marmelade, zucchini flowers filled with mozarella and anchovies (the mere name is mouth-watering!) are pieces of art.
Besides, Angela's Garden is situated 10 minutes (by car) from the picturesque Bracciano Lake which is ideal for children because it is very clean and calm and, as contrasted to the sea in high season, not overcrowded, and on the other hand it's 5 min (by car) from the station from where we could easily get to Rome.
With all mentioned together we had terrific vacations!
Thank you Angela's Garden! And we are happy that we've found you!
Grazie Angela e Lutz! Siete fantastici!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Date of stay 19 June - 30th June 2013.
It's almost 2 weeks since we returned from our holiday stay in Bracciano. The accommodation surpassed our expectations. From the moment we arrived we felt extremely welcome and comfortable. Angela and Lutz were the perfect hosts and provided great advice on trips. During our stay we took advantage of Angela's cooking and enjoyed her authentic Italian dishes immensely, in particular her pasta and tiramisu (I will be e-mailing her privately for the recipes). We will return again and recommend this property to anyone wishing to relax, but also within easy reach of Rome, the beach, the lake...it has it all! Thanks to you both, also your two beautiful dogs, which were a delight.xx Andrew, Christine, Edwin, Madelaine, Michael and Harriet

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We turned up here with no notice due to unforeseen changes in our travel plans and very bad weather. We found the b&b on the internet, but at the time their phone didn't work and we didn't have time to email. Anyway, despite this, Angela looked after us with great hospitality and warmth and we very much appreciated this. The entrance is not signposted for privacy. There are a selection of very nice looking self-contained rooms. It would be a great base for exploring Bracciano, Cerveteri and Tarquinia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Angela's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angela's Garden

Address: Via dell omo morto 20a, 00062 Bracciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Bracciano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bracciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residence „Angela´s Garden“ offers you holiday apartments and double rooms in the country-side of Bracciano near Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Angela's Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angela's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.