We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a welcoming and relaxing destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Culla del Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Culla del Lago to your Saves list
Hotel la Culla del Lago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Spiaggia del Lago, 38, 00040 Castel Gandolfo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel Gandolfo
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a welcoming and relaxing destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just a note to say thank you very much for the time we stayed with you in May 2013.
We had a wondeful 4 days- very relaxing, with enjoyable walks and just what we needed.
The bedroom with balcony over looking the lake was very comfortable and we welcomed the very peaceful setting. Great swimming. Breakfast outside was great. We hope to return one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
26
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here for a family reunion with 16 people of all ages, everybody was delighted by every aspect of this charming, friendly and beautiful hotel.For logistic reasons the vicinity to Ciampino airport was ideal, also the easy access to Rome for sightseeing. The location is perfect, with such splendid views from the terrace that its hard to leave, but so good to return to after a frenetic tour of Rome, the peace and tranquility, the kindness and absolute hospitality of Giorgio and his staff makes this hotel a very special place !

Room Tip: Theyre all good, but for a romantic holiday request lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Location, location, location. This small hotel is located only one hour from Fiumicino Airport by car making it an obviuos stay over hotel before the flight home. Furthermore the hotel is located at the shores of the beuatiful Lago Albano opposite the village Castel Gandolfo where the Pope has his summer residence. And he was there at the same time as we were at Hotel Culla del Lago. The hotel is a 3 star-hotel and it's not modernized, just a little bit worn out but the hotel is charming and the surroundings are second to none. A wonderful garden with a patio whre you can have your breakfast served while you wave to the Pope on the other side of the lake. The breakfast is not exactly a rich one but remember, you're in Italy where breakfast often is a cup of coffee and a piece of bread. The hotel kind host can give you good advises about restaurants nearby and the surrounding villages where specially Nemi is wonderful. We consider our 2 nights at this small hotel to be a pleasant and nice experience which we surely can recommand. Ask for room no. 1 with balcony and direct view to the lake (and the Pope)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Friendly welcome from the owner who showed us to our room – the hotel was almost empty. The room was pretty basic but clean and overlooked the lake. The whole place was very tranquil if a little “tired”. The AC worked and was most welcome, but it was a little noisy. There was free Wi-Fi and a PC available for use by the guests in the lobby. Secure parking in hotel grounds behind a locked gate. The continental breakfast was very weak – no fresh fruit, cereals or proper toast and only limited breads/cakes but a boiled egg or scrambled egg was available. Dinner was offered on one evening but we decided to eat at a recommended restaurant (from the hotel) up in Castel Gandolfo which was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

A picturesque setting, immediately adjacent to the mysterious slatey-green waters of Lake Albarno. Magnificent views across the lake to the Papal summer palace in the village of Castel Gandolfo. Within easy reach of Rome by train or car, but a world away from the city. You cannot fail to feel as if you are staying with friends at Hotel la Culla del Largo. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Rooms are clean, tasteful and simple. Free Wi-fi without even a need for a password. Breakfast is promptly and courteously served and includes delicious Italian coffee and freshly scrambled eggs. Evening meals, provided on request, are generous renditions of homely, traditional Italian family cooking, served with delicious, locally produced wine. Fuss free, with solicitous service at all times. Eating on the shady terrace in the evening, enjoying the view of the lake in complete tranquility is a precursor to a wonderful night's sleep.

Room Tip: When a lake-view room became available, we were moved to it without asking, as the owners wanted us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent one night at Hotel Culla del Lago before flying home through Boston last June. It was a very warm day and we had a hard time finding the hotel (we're lost in Italy almost every day, even though we've been there 9 years in a row) but it was worth the hunt. The swim in the lake was outstanding. The hospitality was great. We had a two wonderful meals nearby and enjoyed some wine in a loggia overlooking the lake before relaxing to a very nice room. Nice airy windows that overlook the lake. Fantastico!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I spent 8 wonderful days with my daughter in La Culla Del Lago. What a gorgeous place! It has a breathtaking view of the lake and surrounding mounts. It is so serene and beautiful, yet simple. the service is great; the rooms are clean. It's only 20 minutes from Rome. It's definitely worth the commute. I want to thank Georgio, the owner, for a beautiful vacation. We had a great time.
I will stay in this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Culla del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Culla del Lago

Address: Via Spiaggia del Lago, 38, 00040 Castel Gandolfo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Castel Gandolfo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel Gandolfo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Culla del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute relaxation... just as absolute is the tranquility that surrounds this resort, built in an area which for centuries has been the summer home of the Pope. Spend the day reading a pleasant book under the shadow of century old plants and trees while enjoying a cocktail. After enjoying the warm sun lying on our private beach you may then take refreshing swim in the lake. For those who enjoy outside activities, do not fear. From the hotel you can easily reach the jogging and mountain-bike tracks. An excellent choice for a relaxing holiday full of sport and culture... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel la Culla del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Culla Del Lago Castel Gandolfo, Italy - Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Culla del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.