We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive number of antipasti” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arte e Vino

Arte e Vino
Corso della Repubblica, 49, 00040 Castel Gandolfo, Italy
06 9360202
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located one block from the Pope's summer home.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Massive number of antipasti”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Arte e Vino serve a massive number of antipasti very quickly - which can easily overwhelm the diners. Pasta is quite good and can be "different". Their Tartuffi bianci (white truffle) and Porcini mushroom spaghetti was very good. Main courses are variable. Desserts disappointing. Very quirky decor, not for everyone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    348
    249
    56
    41
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“in a week went twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Excellent food thoroughly enjoyable we will be going again as we have already decided we will be visiting the Lazio area again soon

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

If only we had discovered this place earlier. Tucked away in Castel Gandolfo this place serves up their speciality starter that should satisfy the most ravenous. Don't order a main course until you have eaten it. Visit the wine grotto in the underground cellar as it is all part of the experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A small wonder in Castel Gandolfo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. The ambience, down the stairs to a charming and cozy room, was wonderful. The food, well, what can I say, all of it was good from a great variety of appetizers (7-9) served family style, through the pasta course, then the meat course and topped off with a heavenly custardy dessert. Then we had a tour of the once wine cellars and ended up on a street beyond the one on which we entered. It was a lovely experience and I would highly recommend this restaurant, a highlight of our June trip to Italy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“A little wacky at first sight, but highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The restaurant is made up of a series of outlets on both sides of the street, including some basements! Our evening started with a tour of the whole premises, including a walk under the road. Each dining room has a theme, clock, toys, etc - we had the clock room. As for the menu, difficult to comment as we opted for the all encompassing "tapas" option and we were presented with numerous starters and more than enough to feed us twice over. Good variety and well presented/cooked. We would definitely go back again when in the area .

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arte e Vino also viewed

Castel Gandolfo, Province of Rome
Castel Gandolfo, Province of Rome
 
Castel Gandolfo, Province of Rome
Castel Gandolfo, Province of Rome
 

Been to Arte e Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arte e Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.