We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Skogafoss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skogafoss

Skogafoss
Skogar, Iceland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 attractions in Skogar
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Epic Skogafoss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

this waterfall was our first stop whilst on the south coast tour, and was absolutely amazing...as we got closer and closer the water began to spray in our faces a little! the photos dont really give a true depiction of the height and power of the waterfall.Was a very snowy day on our visit and would like to visit in summer to see the difference. Definately a must see whilst visiting Iceland!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    72
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
168 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Serene waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Went to see this as part of a iceland south coast tour, and I am glad I did not miss out on this. The waterfall looked amazing surrounded by snow and icicles hanging of the side of the cliff. You can get surprisingly close to the waterfall, and go literally underneath it. Be prepared to get wet though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A must see on the South coast, and unmissable from Route 1. The overall spectacle was fantastic, and the climb up the hill to the top is not for everyone, but achievable for the moderately fit. The view from the top is great and worth the climb.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Impressive falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This waterfall is impressive and worth a short stop. Climb the stairs and trail for a unique view from the top.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
“One of the places i have visited in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We visited this waterfall on a south coast tour with Iceland guided tours in December 2012. The weather was terrible on the day we visited here rained all day. But it didnt dampen our mood when we pulled out at Skogafoss got to say loved the place adn we have visited many wow places in the world but this is WOw WOW WOW. This waterfall is not to be missed when visiting Iceland.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skogafoss also viewed

 

Been to Skogafoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skogafoss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Skogafoss to your Saves list