We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome Hotel Lambafell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Welcome Hotel Lambafell to your Saves list
Welcome Hotel Lambafell
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hvolsvollur, 861, Skogar, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Skogar B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good location for our purpose, which was to explore the coast between Reykjavik and Jökulsárlón (don't miss the later, totally amazaing!). We drove to the hotel from Keflavik airport (via Bluge Lagoon) which was a few hours drive. The hotel was perfect to use as base for our trip along the coast which made for a great daystrip that would have not been as great with the few extra hours drive had we been based in Reykjavik instead.

The hotel itself is new and fresh. The rooms are basic but spacious and clean and the single beds can be moved toghether to create a double bed. Walls are however very thin and we could hear everything from both the corridor and the hottub outside. We didn't try the hottub since we crashed as soon as we got there but it seemed nice. Breakfast was basic but had what you need to start of the day.

Our biggest complaint was that the person working at the hotel was unable to give us any kind of tips regarding places to eat on the way to Jökulsárlón, I would have expected some kind of local knowledge.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the rooms close to the hottup since the noice from people talking in the hottu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    43
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Lambafell is relatively new and only recently put into service, so it is fresh and easy to clean and just about everything works well. I would call it a lodge or inn rather than hotel, as it has a large common area and dining room.

The rooms are well scaled, they have added a luggage stand and clothing rack (reflecting on earlier comment of no furnishings). The beds are comfortable, though most rooms have two twin beds. We secured one end of the beds together with a belt and had no tectonic mattress separation issues. (European hotels maintain twin beds since it is easier to make up two twins as a queen, than the queen as a twins. In Spain one specifies "matrimonial" for the room to be made up as a queen).

The quality of the sleep was impacted by the fabric used for the duvet covers. It is textured and for those used to smooth sheets or smooth duvets, it was uncomfortable. Availability of a simple top sheet would have resolved the problem nicely. Instead short nights and travel fatigue put us out anyway.

Yes, we heard the clumping of small feet above us, but no sounds from across the hall or adjacent room. Having an end room was, naturally, beneficial.

The breakfast is adequate including cereal, skyr (Icelandic yogurt), bread, ham, cheese, tomato, cucumber, hard boiled eggs, butter and orange marmalade. I think US travelers will find it disappointing, while Europeans will recognize it as standard fare.

Hot tub - So this is why one goes to Iceland right? Hot springs creating natural thermal baths. The presence of an outdoor hot tub played a role in selecting it for our two nights stay. Unfortunately it was at 38 when we used it and not satisfying. I should have checked if the temp was raised later. It makes for a good place to connect with other guests socially.

Pricing - We find Europe a bit pricey, but Iceland is well beyond that and it doesn't make sense. But Lambafell is subject to those forces. Thinking back on our internet searches for hotels in the Golden Circle and South Iceland, their price seems in line.

The caretakers seem to have their hands full, but a job needs to fill the hands. Fortunately, I am assuming this, they do not have to cope with infrastructure failures. Washing sheets, towels and remaking the rooms is certainly a full days work.

In retrospect, we should have stuck with our original plan of one night each in South Iceland, Golden Circle (closer to Geysir and Gulfoss) and final night in Reykjavik. It was 1.5 hours for the ride from Geysir back to Lambafell.

Dining - one night we dined at Anna's 5 minutes west of Lambafell. The Artic char and vegetable soup were delicious. We demurred on the horse, lamb, soy based vegetarian dishes and they had run out of pork bellies (which I was keen on). Dinner for two at Anna's runs $100-120.

Sightseeing - approaching Lambafell from the west one sees Seljalandsfoss (you can walk behind this one) and a series of smaller ones along the same cliff. Five to 10 minutes east of Lambafell, is Skogafoss. Stand at its base and/or climb to the overlook and see the gorge it has carved. Another few km is Rt 221 providing access to the glacial walking tours location. 40km east is Vik with camping / access to the beach. (Because of a drier weather window we dragged ourselves out of the sack at 3 a.m. and hit Skogafoss, the edge of Myrdalsjökull glacier and Vik before breakfast. Of course no coffee shops were open.

Room Tip: Upper floor probably has better ocean views over the drainage dike and you'll have also less ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was especially clean, comfortable, and warm. We did drive to Vik for dinner but it was a short drive. The hotels location is a great launching off point for exploring vik, pingvelier park, and the nearby waterfalls. We stayed here our first night in Iceland and would really recommend it. We enjoyed feeling like we are able to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel was very nice. The building was beautiful and brand new. The location was great for us, since we were taking day trips out to Skaftafell and to Westman Islands. Plenty of parking. Wonderful outdoor hottub that we used every night. Beautiful rooms with plenty of space. Unfortunately, the hotel didn't have its own kitchen; the owner said it was because they just recently opened the property and that they hadn't set it up yet. That was a little inconvenient, but the owner was very nice and gave us good recommendations for dinner each night in the nearby area. The other downside was that the soundproofing was not very good. In our room, we could hear through the wall the people talking and walking around in the common area. We could also loudly hear the footsteps of the guests in the room above ours. If you stay here, I would recommend getting a room on the second floor. If you do that, then I think this hotel would be a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor. If you are on the first floor, you will hear the people walking arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is a beautiful and isolated wooden lodge set in beautiful landscape not far from the southernmost point of Iceland, at the foot of the famous Eyjafjallojokull volcano. It only took us 2 or 3 hours to drive here from Reykjavijk airport. The road was fine and it was an easy drive. Free parking at the hotel.

This is an area with desolate, typically Icelandic landscape, black sand beaches, beautiful sea vistas, volcanoes, glaciers, waterfalls, and so on. We were able to see most of the local sites in a day (i.e. staying here one night). However, if your goal is to also to get on the glacier and to see the Westmannaeyjar islands (which is actually where Surtsey is located), you need to spend more than one night in this area.

The setting is really quite beautiful, once you accept the isolation and the bleakness of it. Unfortunately, when we were there in early May, it was mostly cloudy and rainy, so we didn't really see the volcanoes and mountains.

There is no shop or restaurant in the immediate vicinity, so get your supplies before you get here.

The hotel owners really should have used the word "lodge" in the name. (The heavy beams and other wood must all have been imported because there are precious few trees in Iceland.) The hotel has a special ambiance because of its log construction. It seems to be brand new, so it has not yet developed into a richly furnished, luxury kind of place (despite the price). It feels a little spartan at this point.

We had a larger room on the upper floor. Having a lodge-like austerity to it, I wouldn't call the room luxurious. However, everything in the modern bathroom worked well and we had a good night's sleep. Apart from the bed and a rack, there was no furniture or flat space in the room. We laid our things out on the floor.

The "hot pot" (i.e. Jacuzzi) was not working properly when we were there. The water was lukewarm and there was apparently no mechanism for turning on the jets.

The TV had a wide selection of English channels. Wifi works well in the room. Guests also have the use of a laptop and coffee machine in the common area. I was disappointed by how basic the breakfast was and the lack of ambiance, given the cost of the hotel. Not enough money is being spent on that.

The hotel seems understaffed.

This is a unique place. I recommend staying here if you enjoy special experiences, and I would not hesitate to stay here again if I came back to this part of the world. However, I feel the hotel was too expensive for what it is currently offering. I was expecting something a little more luxurious. My score reflects that. It's worth about a 3.5, but I'm rounding it down to 3.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Welcome Hotel Lambafell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Lambafell

Address: Hvolsvollur, 861, Skogar, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Skogar
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Skogar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Welcome Hotel Lambafell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Welcome Hotel Lambafell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome Hotel Lambafell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.